12 Angry Jurors brings emotion

Published 9:34 am Wednesday, March 3, 2010

By By Lisa Tindell
Three performances by members of the Greater Escambia Council for the Arts troupe left audiences with a wide range of emotions with the production of “12 Angry Jurors” last weekend.
Members of the cast performed to three audiences at the GECA theatre currently housed in the old Bateson’s Furniture Building on Trammell Street in downtown Atmore. The production, which featured a cast of 13, was the first dramatic presentation of the organization.
Cast members for the production included Foreman – Sherrie Hursh; Juror No. 2 – Melanie Bennett; Juror No. – Phil Johnson; Juror No. 4 – Kate Sherrill; Juror No. 5 – Max Reed; Juror No. 6 – Venia McMorris; Juror No. 7 – Sharon Poulsen; Juror No. 8 – Norm Boyd; Juror No. 9 – Steve Billy; Juror No. 10 – Mike McMorris; Juror No. 11 – Patty Castleberry; Juror No. 12 – Ellen Johnson; Guard – Phillip Coon.
Shows were held Friday and Saturday evening with a Sunday matinee to offer opportunities for viewing by the public.
Previously, the organization has generally produced musicals and comedies with “12 Angry Jurors” being dubbed the troupes first true dramatic presentation. Previous shows have included, most recently, “The Rainmaker,” “Steel Magnolias,” “You’re A Good Man Charlie Brown,” “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Coat” and many others.
Plans for future performances of the group are being made with the organization of a reunion-style concert to be presented later this month.
For additional information concerning past performances, casting calls and future productions of the Greater Escambia Council for the Arts, visit the organization’s Web site at www.gecadirector.tripod.com
For more photos visit www.atmorefocus.com.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox