PCI Tribal election today

Published 5:54 pm Friday, June 4, 2010

Tribal members with the Poarch Band of Creek Indians will head to the polls today to vote on three spots available on the council.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 7 p.m., according to Gia Rodriguez, election board chairperson.

Tribal Council members up for re-election this year include David Gehman – Tribal Secretary; Helen Hallman and Robert McGhee, council members.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The positions of Tribal Council Secretary, Tribal Council Treasurer and an at-large Tribal Council member will require candidates to receive 51 percent, or a majority vote, in order to claim the position. If no candidate receives the majority of the vote, a run-off election will be necessary, Rodriguez said.

Candidates on the ballot for the at-large position include incumbent Helen Hallman with W.V. Williams, Carrie Martin, Robert Thrower, Gil Caudle, Valerie Barnhill Taylor, Eddie Tullis, Debra Strickland, Douglas Kelley and Earnest Vickery as opponents in the race.

For the position of Tribal Secretary, incumbent David Gehman will face William Bailey, Sandra Smith, Dewitt Carter, Carolyn White and Kelli Ramer in the election.

Current Tribal Treasurer Robbie McGhee will face Amy Bryan, William Vickery and Edie Jackson in the 2010 election.