Published 12:02 am Wednesday, May 9, 2018

ECHS holds annual athletics banquet

Looking toward the future.

That was the reoccurring theme of the night at Escambia County’s athletics banquet on May 7 in the school auditorium.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“For our student athletes, this was a good year,” ECHS athletic director and football coach Rico Jackson said. “The girls basketball team made the playoffs for the first time in five years. The boys basketball team finished 20-10, and made the playoffs. The girls softball team is currently playing in the regional tournament.

“The 2018 football team — we’re going to make the playoffs, as well as the volleyball team,” he said.

The Blue Devils’ track and field team recently just returned from Gulf Shores after making it to the state meet.

During the banquet, every athlete, including junior varsity and varsity were recognized for their contributions during their sport’s respective seasons.

The varsity athletes who earned individual awards at the banquet from each sport include:


• Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Lady Devils Spirit Award — ShaDiamond Harris

• Coaches Award — Destiny Freemon

Boys Basketball

• Hustle Award — Sean Marshall

• Defensive Player of the Year — Xavier Lymon

• Offensive Player of the Year — Malik Brown

• MVP — Lue Williams

Girls Basketball

• Most Improved — Darriona Nichols

• Hard Charger Award — C’anna Betts

• Senior Award — Zaria Smith

• MVP — Jacala Nickson

• Coaching Recognition — Layton Knight


• Most Improved — Jakayla Roberts

• Defensive MVP — Skyler Riley

• Offensive MVP — Lydaja Brown

• MVP — Harris

Track and Field

All eight athletes that went to the state meet, including Sean Marshall, Willie Pittman, Collinger Daughtry, Katyree Russell, Ladainian Dailey, Eunique Rudolph and Khalia Inglemon were recognized at the banquet.


• Senior Captain — Darrien Abrams

• Defensive MVP — Deondre Freeman

• Offensive MVP — William Bradley

• Atmore Football Tradition Award — Ja’Bryce Hooks

• Academic Award — Williams