Northview holds fall sports banquet

Published 10:58 am Wednesday, December 26, 2018

Northview football players and cheerleaders celebrated their 2018 campaign during a fall banquet at Walnut Hill Baptist Church recently.

The Chiefs ended their season 8-5 and in the Class 1A regional semifinal. The NHS cheerleaders, who are currently cheering for the basketball team, started preparation for the season last spring, making signs for each game and practicing cheer for contests.

Cheer coach Genia Bashore recognized both the junior varsity (JV) and varsity squads. Individual awards were given to those who made impacts on the squad.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Those who received awards on the varsity squad include Gabrielle Kline, leadership award; Jessie McCall and Briana Spruill, team player award; Shelby Bashore, integrity award; Chloe Smith, showmanship award; and Hannah Hughes and Abigail Nelson, coaches awards.

Chiefs head football coach Derek Marshman recognized JV coaches Greg Gibson, Kevin Bryan, Kent Calloway and Jared Aliff before the varsity team.

Assistant coaches for varsity included Doug Godwin, Eric Jefferson, John Madison, Tyler Reeves, Mandell Smith, Glenn Weber and Devron Williams.

During the season, the Joey Hetrick Florida Farm Bureau Player of the Week was awarded.

Marshman named each week’s POW, including Aunterio Minor (Lighthouse), Lance McLaughlin (Flomaton), McLaughlin (South Walton), Keegan Johnston (Blountstown), Jayden Jackson (Holmes County), Seth Killam (Jay), Jaheem Durant (Catholic), Damerion Findley (Baker), Durant (Snook Christian) and Killam (Freeport).

The FCA Challenger Award Winner was Alex McMinn; and all-area honorees included McLaughlin, Durant, Findley, Killam, Jackson, Johnston, Trent Peebles and Johnny Windham.

Killam was named the prep football final scholar athlete of the week.

Recently, four NHS football players competed in the Pensacola Sports Association All-Star football game. McLaughlin, Killam, Johnston and Rayvon Bush played for the west All-Stars during the game.

Marshman then recognized each grade group on the varsity football team.

Individual awards went to Domerion Findley, top newcomer; Killam, academic award; McLaughlin, top linebacker award; Peebles, top offensive back award; Keyshawn Breedlove, top defensive back award; Killam, utility award; Durant and Jojo Parker, top defensive linemen award; Johnston, top offensive lineman award; McMinn, Chief award; Gary Clayton, Farm Bureau Special Teams MVP award; McLaughlin, Farm Bureau Defensive MVP award; and Jackson, Farm Bureau Offensive MVP award.