Johnson named 3A back of year

Published 12:01 am Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Flomaton’s Daquan Johnson was named the Alabama Sports Writers Association Class 3A Back of the Year at the Mr. Football Banquet at The Renaissance Hotel in Montgomery, presented by Cadence Bank, on Jan. 15.

During his senior season, Johnson rushed for 2,261 yards on 232 carries and scored 27 touchdowns; and had 14 receptions for 266 yards and four scores in the air.

Johnson said it’s a blessing to receive this honor back to back. He won it for his efforts during the Hurricanes’ state championship season in 2018.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“It’s a bless to be in this situation today,” he said. “Not a lot of kids can be in this situation. It’s an amazing feeling.”

Johnson, who recently signed with Duke University’s football program, said it was amazing to be in the same room with such talent.

It was amazing to see ho much work I put in to be in the same room with a bunch of guys at bigger schools,” he said. “To be able to compete with them, it was an honor.”

The other backs of the year include by classification:

• 7A: Sawyer Pate, Thompson

• 6A: Kris Abrams-Draine, Spanish Fort

• 5A: Zyquez Perryman, Pleasant Grove

• 4A: Rontarius Wiggins, Jacksonville

• 3A: Daquan Johnson, Flomaton

• 2A: Jalen White, Daleville

• 1A: Kristian Story, Lanett

• AISA: Cephus Cleveland, Macon-East

Story was named the state’s Mr. Football.

Mr. Football and the state’s other major high school football award winners were named at a luncheon banquet sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The awards are named by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Story ran for 1,036 yards and 15 touchdowns, and threw for 2,335 yards and 26 TDs this season, helping Lanett and coach Clifford Story win the AHSAA Class 1A championship and finish with a 14-0 record.

In his career, he set AHSAA records for total touchdowns and total yards.

Story’s 13,218 career yards broke the record of 12,497 set by last year’s Mr. Football, Pinson Valley’s Bo Nix. Story’s 175 total touchdowns also broke a record of Nix’s. Nix had 161.

Story’s 9,070 career passing yards rank eighth in AHSAA history and his 119 career touchdown passes are third.

Story has signed with Alabama.

The linemen of the year by classification are:

• 7A: Demouy Kennedy, Theodore

• 6A: Jackson Bratton, Muscle Shoals

• 5A: Trent Howard, Briarwood

• 4A: Will Breland, UMS-Wright

• 3A: Deontae Lawson, Mobile Christian

• 2A: Arian Gregory, Luverne

• 1A: Mack McCluskey, Mars Hill Bible

• AISA: Eli Richey, Southern Academy