BOE approves hire of new head football coach, athletic director at ECHS

Published 6:38 pm Monday, June 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Escambia County Schools Board of Education approved the hire of Escambia County High School’s new head football coach and athletic director today during a special-called meeting.

The board approved the hire of Vincent Harris, to be a teacher, head football coach and athletic director at ECHS. Harris is replacing Scott Mason, who has been out for health reasons.

Mason compiled a 9-21 at ECHS.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The board also approved several personnel recommendations, including:


  • Allison Nalty, part time academic interventionist at Escambia County Middle School, effective May 25, 2022;
  • Deborah Silcox, temporary/part time special education services, office of special education and student services, effective May 26;
  • Wendy Stafford, part time (retired) speech/language pathologist at ECMS, effective May 26;
  • Jordan Bowens, teacher aide at ECMS, effective May 25;
  • Adam Atchison, band director at Flomaton High School, effective May 26;• Adam Atchison, band director at Flomaton High School, effective May 26;
  • Steven White, mechanic at Atmore Bus Shop, effective May 26;
  • Jason Beasley, welding instructor at Escambia Career Readiness Center, effective June 8, 2022;


  • Anna Wheeler, as math teacher from ECHS to math teacher at ECMS, effective Aug. 1, 2022;
  • JoLynn Godwin, as physical education teacher at Rachel Patterson Elementary School, to PE teacher at A.C. Moore Elementary School, effective Aug. 1;


  • Jean Walker, temporary part time JAG career specialist, ECSS, effective June 9;
  • Michael Williams, assistant band director at ECMS, effective Aug. 1, replacing Kenneth Ford;
  • Academic Recovery Response Plan Summer Programs’ personnel;

Employment change

  • Kendria Jackson, as teacher aide at ECMS, to six-hour lunchroom worker at ECMS, effective Aug. 1;
  • Spencer Kilpatrick, academic recovery response plan summer program student worker at Huxford Elementary School, to same position but a maintenance custodian at HES, effective May 26;
  • Shirley Prescod, instructional aide at Pollard McCall Junior High School, to Pre-K Program teacher at A.C. Moore, effective Aug. 1;
  • Minnie Hassell, custodian at W.S. Neal High School, to six-hour lunchroom worker at WSNMS;
  • April Blackwell, as English/language arts teacher at WSNHS, to social studies teacher at WSNMS;
  • James Rogers, as science teacher at WSNMS to assistant band director at WSNMS;
  • Jonathon Nelson, as utility/groundskeeper at Brewton Maintenance Department, to general maintenance worker at Brewton Maintenance Department, effective July 1;
  • William Mills, bus shop foreman at Atmore Bus Shop, to transportation/safety supervisor at ECBOE, effective July 1;
  • Jamie Burkett, as technology coordinator, to supervisor of technology effective July 1; and,


  • Brandon Wiggins, as HVAC/electrician at Brewton Maintenance Department, effective June 6.

In other business, the board approved board of education resolution ECBOE2022-1.