Incumbents win Tribal Council re-election

Published 11:46 am Monday, June 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The incumbents running for the secretary, treasurer and at large seats of the Poarch Creek Indian Tribal Council won re-election on June 4.

Secretary Charlotte M. Meckel tallied 776 votes to win out over Nioma J. Till, who garnered 375 votes.

In the treasurer’s race, Amy B. Gantt racked up 611 votes, defeating Chance Jackson and Denise Young, who compiled 197 votes and 359 votes, respectively.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the at large race, Dewitt Carter had 522 votes, winning over Keith W. Colbert, Carla M. Hammonds, Douglas Kelley and Steven Ledkins.

Fourteen write-in votes were cast for secretary; three were cast for treasurer; and eight were cast for at large.