Primary vote today for District 1

Published 11:51pm Friday, September 20, 2013

Atmore voters will have their voices heard today, as they head to the polls for a special primary election to help determine their next congressman.

Today’s primary election will determine the candidates to fill the U.S. House of Representatives, District 1, seat that was vacated by Jo Bonner’s resignation.

Voters in today’s election will be able to vote for either the Republican candidate, or the Democratic candidate, but not both.

If a runoff primary election is required, it will be held Nov. 5, and the general election will be held Dec. 17. If there is no runoff needed, the general election will be held Nov. 5.

Today’s polls will be open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m., said Mike Watson of the Escambia County Board of Registrars. Voters must have a form of identification — typically a driver’s license — when they arrive at the polling place.

Watson said that voters should vote at their regular polling locations, which are listed on their county voter registration cards. Any voters who are unsure if they are registered, or have a question about where to vote, can call the Board of Registrars at (251) 867-0243.

The Republican candidates are Bradley Byrne,  Daniel Dyas, State Rep. Chad Fincher, Wells Griffith, Quin Hillyer, Jessica James, Sharon Powe, David “Thunder” Thornton and Dean Young.

The Democratic candidates are: Lula Albert-Kaigler and Burton LeFlore.

Independent candidate James Hall has also qualified for the race. He will be automatically listed on the general election ballot in November or December.

The winner of this year’s special election will complete Bonner’s remaining term, and then immediately face re-election in 2014.


Editor's Picks