DIRECTV reaches settlement, King says

Published 3:47 pm Thursday, December 16, 2010

Subscribers of service from satellite provider DirecTV may be entitled to compensation in a settlement reached this week.

Alabama Attorney General Troy King said Alabama is one of many states that have reached an agreement for DIRECTV to pay millions of dollars to settle consumer protection allegations against the company.

DIRECTV will pay $13.25 million in the settlement in addition to paying restitution to consumers. The satellite provider has also agreed to alter business practices in the future as a result of the agreement.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“I am pleased that DIRECTV has agreed to change its marketing practices and that consumers will receive restitution for problems they have experienced,” King said. “This is a significant achievement that better protects consumers. I encourage all Alabama citizens who have had these types of problems with DIRECTV to file a claim for restitution.”

Official in King’s office say the state had received complaints that DIRECTV did not clearly disclose the price consumers would be charged and the commitment term the consumer would be required to keep DIRECTV services; did not disclose the limitations on getting a certain price for services; enrolled consumers in additional contract or contract terms without disclosing the terms; enrolled consumers in additional contracts when replacing defective equipment; did not disclose that the provider would automatically renew a seasonal sports package; and offered cash back to consumers when the consumer would actually receive bill credits.

To file a claim for restitution, consumers can file a complaint on DIRECTV’s Website at or by calling 1-800-DIRECTV. Alternatively, consumers can file a consumer complaint with the Attorney General’s office by visiting the website at by writing to 500 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama 36130, or by calling the Consumer Protection Hotline at 1-800-392-5658.

In addition to the Alabama Attorney General, others participating in the agreement announced today include the Attorneys General of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and the District of Columbia.