Final field set

Published 11:14 am Wednesday, July 18, 2012

With qualifying for municipal races officially ending at the end of business hours Tuesday, a total of 15 candidates made up the official list of those running for Atmore’s mayoral seat and five city council spots.

Qualifying for the mayor’s race were current city councilman for District 5, Jim Staff, Lloyd Albritton and Bernard Bishop.

On the ballot for city council, District 1 will be incumbent Webb Nall and challenger Chad Thrower. In District 2, incumbent Cornell Torrence will face challenger Thomas McNeal. In District 3, incumbent Chris Walker will run unoppossed. In District 4, the seat held by longtime councilman John Garrard, Larry Houck, Phil Johnson and Susan Smith will vie for the opportunity to serve. In District 5 Gregg Akins, Chris Harrison, Sandra Gray and Michael Arnold will run for the seat being vacated by Staff.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox