Council complete

Published 5:05 am Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Chris Harrison and Susan Smith won runoff elections for seats on Atmore’s city council in Districts 4 and 5.

Newly elected Atmore City Council members Susan Smith and Chris Harrison said they are ready to get to work following runoffs Tuesday night.

In District 4, Smith defeated opponent Larry Houck 226 to 165, while Harrison won over Michael Arnold 119 to 65 in District 5.
Smith said she is excited to get to work in November.

“I appreciate everybody’s support coming out,” Smith said. “I can promise you that I will work faithfully to make this a better place for us all to live in. I feel truly very blessed that it turned out the way it has. It’s been a great turnout and I just really do appreciate it.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Following the announcement, Houck said he was proud to have been apart of a race that so many Atmore residents turned out to support.

“It was a good race. It was a long race,” Houck said. “I’m just thankful we live in a country where we can have an election and everybody will show out for it. The turnout was great for Atmore.”

In District 5, Harrison said he was thankful to all of the voters and added he is excited to get to work.

“I want to congratulate Michael on a good, clean race,” Harrison said. “I look forward to working with everybody and appreciate all of the support.”

Arnold said he would support Harrison.

“We ran a good clean campaign,” Arnold said. “Chris did his job. I did my job and I just want to say I’m going to be there to support him. He’s my city councilman. I just want to continue to offer my public service to the city of Atmore and say thank you to all of my supporters.”

Both Smith and Harrison said their first priorities in office would be getting to know the process and feel of the job, and using that to better their districts and the city of Atmore.

Smith and Houck join incumbents Webb Nall, Cornell Torrence and Chris Walker on the council.

All newly elected candidates will officially begin their terms Monday, Nov. 5.