Tribal candidates announced

Published 9:38 pm Friday, April 5, 2013

The field is now set for the 2013 Poarch Band of Creek Indians tribal elections scheduled to be held June 1. Tuesday marked the deadline for qualifying for the races that will include tribal secretary, treasurer and one at large council seat.

According to Tribal Administrator Edie Jackson, the list of candidates vying for the tribal council seat currently held by Eddie Tullis include: Vicky Sells Burns; Gloria Krafka; Kevin McGhee; Terri Morris; Isaac Thomas Rolin; Cecelia Sanspree; Raymond Rolin; Larry Flurnoy; Elisha Martin; David Adams; Carolyn White. Tullis himself did not submit his name for reelection.

Jackson said those running for secretary will include: Incumbent David Gehman; William “Billy” Bailey, Jr.; Charlotte Meckel; Timothy Ramer.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Those running for treasurer include: Incumbent Robert McGhee; Dewitt Carter; Rodney Exum; Gia Langham; Tawana Wicker Parham; Berry L. Ross; Andrea Mitchem; Mal McGhee.

The names of the candidates, as well as any proposed constitutional amendments, ordinances and/or resolutions will be posted Saturday, April 13. The last day to announce candidacy for a write-in ballot for the tribal council seat will be Thursday, May 2.

This year’s tribal elections are scheduled to take place Saturday, June 1.