Tribal vote to be held Saturday

Published 10:39 am Wednesday, May 29, 2013

The campaign process is drawing to a close for 23 candidates running for this year’s Poarch Band of Creek Indians tribal elections, taking place Saturday.

Candidates for tribal secretary, treasurer and an at large tribal council seat will be chosen Saturday when voting opens at 7 a.m.

Candidates running for the at large council seat currently held by Eddie Tullis include: David Adams; Vicky Sells Burns; Larry Flurnoy; Gloria Sells Krafka; Leasha E. Martin; Kevin D. McGhee; Terri A. Morris; Isaac Thomas Rolin; Raymond Bucky Rolin; Cecelia Bailey Sanspree; Carolyn McGhee White. Tullis is not seeking reelection.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Candidates for the tribal secretary seat currently held by David Gehman include: Gehman; William (Billy) Bailey Jr.; Charlotte McGhee Meckel; Tim Ramer.
Candidates vying for the treasurer seat now held by Robert McGhee include: McGhee; Dewitt C. Carter; Rodney Exum; Gia Langham; Mal D. McGhee; Andrea Dawn Mitchem; Tawana Wicker Parham; Berry L. Ross.

According to tribal Election Board Chairperson Edie Jackson, polls will open Saturday at 8 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m. at the PCI SAIL center. Results will be posted at the SAIL center on the community bulletin board.