Field growing in race to fill Bonner’s seat

Published 9:04 pm Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Nine Republican candidates and two Democratic candidates have qualified to run in a special election to fill Alabama’s 1st District Congressional seat.

The seat was vacated when former U.S. Rep. Jo Bonner, R-Mobile, resigned to take a position with the University of Alabama System.

The Republican and Democratic primary elections will be Tuesday, Sept. 24. If required, a runoff election would be held Nov. 5, and the general election would be Dec. 17. If a runoff election is not required, the general election would be held Nov. 5.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Republican candidates who qualified were:

• Bradley Byrne, a former state senator and Republican candidate for governor, who also served as the past chancellor of the Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education;

• Daniel Dyas, a small business owner;

• State Rep. Chad Fincher, a small business owner;

• Wells Griffith, an attorney who is also the deputy chief of staff for the Republican National Committee;

• Quin Hillyer, a conservative columnist for the American Spectator;

• Jessica James, a Realtor and grant writer for Bishop State Community College;

• Sharon Powe, a legal assistant for the U.S. Small Business Administration;

• David “Thunder” Thornton, a retired Shell production specialist and retail employee;

• Dean Young, a Realtor and small business owner who is a former candidate for Congress.
The Democratic candidates who qualified were:

• Lula Albert-Kaigler, a retired self-employed worker;

• Burton LeFlore, who works in real estate.
Independent candidate James Hall, a former U.S. Marine, has also qualified for the race.

Former State Sen. Albert Lipscomb had announced his intentions to run in the race as a Republican, but he has since withdrawn.
The winner of the special election to fill the remainder of Bonner’s term will then face re-election in 2014.