New candidates qualify for county races

Published 9:55 am Tuesday, February 4, 2014

With just a few days left before the Feb. 7 qualifying deadline, several new candidates have thrown their hats in the ring for county offices.

Heath Jackson, chairman of the county’s Republican party and a former candidate for sheriff, will seek the office again. Incumbent Grover Smith has already qualified as a Democrat for re-election.

Malcolm “Bub” Gideons qualified as a Democrat for tax assessor. Sarah McMillan qualified for the office last week as a Republican. Incumbent Jim Hildreth is not expected to run again.
Todd White qualified as a Democrat for tax collector, and Tim Pettis qualified as a Republican for tax collector. Incumbent Joy Wiggins is not expected to run again.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Debbie McDonald Quarles qualified for Escambia County School Board District 1. The incumbent is Democrat Michael Goolsby.

Other county races with qualified candidates include:

• David Stokes, county commission District 1 (incumbent)

• Larry White, county commission District 3 (incumbent)

• David Quarker, county commission District 5 (incumbent);
Katrina Wallace, county commission District 5.

• William Grissett, Escambia County Board of Education District 5 (incumbent)

In addition to the county offices, statewide offices are up for election as well.

In House District 66, Republican Alan Baker has qualified to run for re-election.

In Senate District 22, Republicans Danny Joyner, Stephen Sexton and Harry D’Olive have announced their intention to run. Sexton and D’Olive have qualified, according to the state Republican Party Web site. Democrat Marc Keahey currently holds the seat.