School board approves personnel moves

Published 1:46 pm Thursday, August 28, 2014

In a special called Escambia County Board of Education meeting Thursday morning at 10 a.m. in Brewton, the board approved personnel recommendations for the 2014-15 school year.

The board approved the resignation of two employees, one transfer, hired seven, changed one, and rehired one.


Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

• Anthony Odom, bus driver, Brewton bus shop, effective Aug. 22.

• Angela Hiers, bus driver, Atmore bus shop, effective Aug. 15.

• Leigh Ann Rowland, reading coach, W.S. Neal Elementary School, to librarian, A.C. Moore Elementary School, effective Sept. 2 (replacing Janet Brantley).


• Brett Amos, teacher, Rachel Patterson Elementary School, effective Aug. 29 (replacing Ashley Murphy).

• Michelle Reaves, teacher, Flomaton Elementary School, effective Aug. 29 (replacing Kimberly Byrd).

• Kathy Douglas, after-school data processing/clerical, office of attendance, effective Aug. 29 (at-risk funds).

• 21st Century Community Learning Center after-school program personnel: Huxford Elementary School site coordinator: Scarlet Strom; community educators: Monica Buckhault and Melissa Sims; teachers: Alice White, Magen English, Dawn Malone, Connie Hale, Cheyenne Ikner; and student worker: Emmanuel Morris.

• Rachel Mooney, special education aide, W.S. Neal Middle School, effective Sept. 2.

• Jace Gandy, English/language arts teacher, W.S. Neal High School, effective Sept. 8 (replacing Gloria Jerkins).

• Betty Warren, bus driver, Atmore bus shop, effective Aug. 29 (replacing Kathy Stophel).

Employment changes

• Melanie Crawford, instructional teacher aide, Flomaton Elementary School, to secretary/bookkeeper, Flomaton Elementary School, effective Sept. 2 (replacing Sherry Ellison).


• Cynthia Dean, special education teacher, Escambia County Middle School, effective Aug. 29.

This story was written by Brewton Standard staff writer Adam Robinson.