Federal disaster aid is available for county

Published 10:41 am Friday, January 22, 2016

Federal disaster aid is available to the state of Alabama to help supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the week of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that occurred Dec. 23-31, 2015, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today.

President Barack Obama’s action makes federal funding available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding in Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Perry, Pike, Russell, St. Clair, Walker, and Winston counties.

Elizabeth Turner has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Turner said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Tbe following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available as needed and warranted under Obama’s disaster declaration issued for the State of Alabama.

Assistance for the territory and affected local governments can include as required:

• Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for emergency work and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities. (Source: FEMA funded, territory administered.)

• Payment of not more than 75 percent of the approved costs for hazard mitigation projects undertaken by state, tribal, and local governments to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters. (Source: FEMA funded, territory administered.)

How to Apply for Assistance:

• Application procedures for state, tribal and local governments will be explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials. Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.