Atmore native to compete in FLW tour season

Published 12:03 am Wednesday, November 28, 2018

An Atmore angler is competing in the 2019 Fishing League Worldwide (FLW) tour season, according to officials.

Bradley Dortch will be among 170 professional anglers competing in the season. This will be Dortch’s third season on the tour. Additionally, Scott Wiley of Bay Minette, will be competing in his seventh season on the tour.

Dortch has career earnings of more than $232,000 with FLW and will look to log a second FLW Tour victory after winning the FLW Tour at the Harris Chain of Lakes presented by Ranger in 2017. Wiley has career earnings of more than $165,000 with FLW, and will look to qualify for his second career FLW Cup.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The field will be showcased along the 2019 FLW Tour, which features seven regular-season tournaments around the country with competition kicking off at Sam Rayburn Reservoir, Jan. 10-13, in Brookeland, Texas, and culminating with the world championship of bass fishing – the FLW Cup at Lake Hamilton, Aug. 9-11, in Hot Springs, Ark.

Two-hundred-and-ten anglers registered for a slot on the prestigious tournament circuit in its final year of priority registration before switching to a strict qualifying process and a 150-pro field in 2020.

The top award at each Tour event is $125,000 with $300,000 going to the winner of the FLW Cup.

Since the final field exceeds the published payout basis of 150 pros, FLW will survey all 170 participating pros to finalize the 2019 payout structure.

The 2019 FLW Tour roster is headlined by a stout contingent of bass-fishing heavyweights, including three-time Angler of the Year (AOY) and 2003 FLW Cup champion David Dudley of Lynchburg, Va., 2015 AOY and 2011 FLW Cup champion Scott Martin of Clewiston, Fla. and two-time Angler of the Year Bryan Thrift of Shelby, N.C. They’ll be joined by bass-fishing legends Jimmy Houston of Cookson, Okla., and Larry Nixon of Quitman, Ark., as well as three former FLW Cup champions – John Cox (2016), Brad Knight (2015) and Darrel Robertson (2002).

The 2019 Tour will also feature 34 rookies from around the country.

The complete FLW Tour roster for 2019 can be found at