Local VFW Auxiliary member gets national recognition

Published 11:09 am Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Local Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary member Jennifer Hutto was recently recognized for her work with a local chapter by the National VFW organization.

Last year, Hutto served as the Legislative Chair for the VFW Auxiliary Legislative Program for the State of Alabama.

Some of the goals for the program were to keep in contact with members of Congress to promote the national VFW Priority Goals, to sign members up to receive the VFW Action Corps Weekly and to encourage voter participation and legislative education and involvement.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

To help with education about the legislative process, Hutto educated members by creating and performing a skit of “How A Bill Becomes A Law.”

The skit was recorded and sent to a national VFW Ambassador, who sent it out to chairmen across the nation.

Hutto also helped create a “Pop Quiz” PowerPoint presentation that helped further educate members on the legislative process, which was also distributed nationally as an excellent example of how to achieve educational goals.

“It’s certainly an honor to have presentations I worked on and created be sent around nationally for people to use,” Hutto said. “I’m proud that people are recognizing our good work here in Alabama and how it can be useful to help educate and inform people about the legislative process and our democracy.”

During her tenure as Legislative Chair, Alabama’s department had 164 new members sign up for the Action Corps newsletter and hundreds of members of Congress were reached out to via email, social media, letters and phone calls about veterans’ issues.

Hutto became a member of the VFW Auxiliary in 2013 following the death of her father, who was a WWII veteran. She is a member of the Atmore Memorial VFW Auxiliary to Post 7016. Hutto currently serves as the Senior Legislative Assistant for the Baldwin County Legislative Delegation.