Candidates qualify for municipal election

Published 12:01 pm Friday, July 10, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Ten have qualified for the upcoming Atmore municipal elections, according to officials.

City Clerk Becca Smith said today that since Tues., July 7, Incumbent Mayor Jim Staff, Ernie Digmon and Susan Smith have qualified to run for mayor.

In District 1, Incumbent Webb Nall qualified for re-election with no present opposition.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In District 3, Eunice M. Johnson qualified to run for election.

In District 4, Shawn Lassiter qualified to run for election, along with Larry Houck.

In District 5, Incumbent Chris Harrison has qualified to run for re-election. Opponent Sandra Gray has also qualified to run for election.

Staff, Digmon, Smith, Nall, Lassiter, Harrison, Houck and Gray have announced their intentions to run for office.