DYW to announce winners via Facebook

Published 10:22 am Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Lisa Tindell

The Brewton Standard

In what will be a different kind of event, the 2020 version of the Distinguished Young Woman scholarship program.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Suzanne Barnett, one of the coordinators for the event, said what would have been an in-person, live event has now turned into an on-line event.

“We will have a show,” Barnett said. “The Distinguished Young Women of Escambia County will host a “watch party” Saturday, August 22nd to showcase the Class of 2020 and name our Distinguished Young Woman of 2020.”

The program’s finale event is typically open to the public and is held annually at the Brewton campus of Coastal Alabama Community College. However, for the 2020 program participants, the venue won’t be in Woodfin Patterson Auditorium, but will be in living rooms around the area.

“The show will air this Saturday at 7:00 pm on our Facebook page,” Barnett said. “The page can be found with a Facebook search for ‘Distinguished Young Women of Escambia County.’”

Participants for this unusual year of the Distinguished Young Women are:

Aaliya Bedsole of W.S. Neal High School in East Brewton; Olivia Blackmon of T.R. Miller High School in Brewton; Treniti Blount of T.R. Miller High School in Brewton; Ashley Bradley of Flomaton High School in Brewton; Ali Dunaway of W.S. Neal High School in East Brewton; Bailey Jones of T.R. Miller High School in Brewton; Hannah Mallory of T.R. Miller High School in Brewton.

Participants have been interviewed and participated in on-line judging events leading up to the final winner announcement on Saturday, Barnett said.