City council certifies election results

Published 9:14 am Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Atmore City Council adopted a resolution Tuesday making the 2020 municipal election results official.

City Clerk Becca Smith said each councilmember was allowed the opportunity to look at the roster, and the board of registrars put them in and chose what is to be counted and not counted.

All provisional ballots were approved and counted, and each district’s candidate’s totals were announced, with the exception of District 3 and 4, which were unchanged.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Once the provisional ballots were counted, the final count was announced by Mayor Jim Staff.

For mayor, Staff (winner) garnered 919 votes compared to Susan Smith’s 739 votes.

For District 1, Webb Nall (winner) had 148 votes, compared to Bernard Williams’ 126 votes.

For District 2, Jerome Webster (winner) had 169 votes, compared to Angelia Norman’s 114.

Eunice Johnson won the District 3 seat, and Shawn Lassiter won the District 4 seat.

For District 5, Bub Gideons had 124 votes, and Chris Harrison had 108 votes. Gideons and Harrison are in a run off.

The election for the run off will be held Tues., Oct. 6, 2020.

The resolution was approved by Webster, former District 3 Councilmember Chris Walker, Nall and Harrison.

Smith voted no on the resolution’s passing.

Staff read each certificate of election to conclude the meeting.

All will being their new terms on Mon., Nov. 2.