Pinson Valley’s McKinstry named Mr. Football

Published 12:23 pm Sunday, January 17, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Ga’Quincy McKinstry, a two-way star at Pinson Valley High in suburban Birmingham, has been named the state’s Mr. Football.
McKinstry was a receiver and defensive back for the Indians, who went 12-2 and won the Class 6A championship.
Offensively, he caught 45 passes for 706 yards and 11 touchdowns. He had five receptions for 89 yards and the go-ahead score in the state title game, a 23-13 victory over Spanish Fort.
On defense, McKinstry finished with 21 tackles, 13 pass breakups and two interceptions. He returned both interceptions for touchdowns.
McKinstry also shined in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic. He caught five passes — two on defense and three on offense — and was named Alabama’s most valuable player.
McKinstry signed with the University of Alabama in December.
With McKinstry and 2018 winner Bo Nix, Pinson Valley becomes the fourth school to have two Mr. Football winners.
But the Indians are the first to do it in such a short span. The other schools are Etowah (1992 Freddie Kitchens and 2000 Carnell Williams), Pike County (1989 Steven Coleman and 2003 Chris Nickson) and Vigor (1982 Tommy Compton and 1988 Darrell Williams).
The awards are named by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.
Normally, the winner is named at a luncheon banquet sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. This year’s banquet was canceled due to the pandemic.
2020: Ga’Quincy McKinstry, Pinson Valley
2019: Kristian Story, Lanett
2018: Bo Nix, Pinson Valley
2017: Asa Martin, Austin
2016: La’Damian Webb, Beauregard
2015: Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort
2014: Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy
2013: Racean Thomas, Oxford
2012: Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery
2011: T.J. Yeldon, Daphne
2010: Jamal Golden, Wetumpka
2009: Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.
2008: Clint Moseley, Leroy
2007: Julio Jones, Foley
2006: Larry Smith, Prattville
2005: Andre Smith, Huffman
2004: Jarod Bryant, Hoover
2003: Chris Nickson, Pike Co.
2002: JaMarcus Russell, Williamson
2001: Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville
2000: Carnell Williams, Etowah
1999: Cory Whisenant, Springville
1998: DeMarco McNeil, Blount
1997: Mac Campbell, Alexandria
1996: Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa
1995: Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis
1994: Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley
1993: Thomas Banks, West Jefferson
1992: Freddie Kitchens, Etowah
1991: Robert Davis, Homewood
1990: David Palmer, Jackson-Olin
1989: Steven Coleman, Pike Co.
1988: Darrell Williams, Vigor
1987: Robert Jones, Parker
1986: Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery
1985: Pierre Goode, Hazlewood
1984: Roderick Green, Gardendale
1983: Freddy Weygand, Emma Sansom
1982: Tommy Compton, Vigor

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox