Calhoun’s Davison named Mr. Basketball

Published 9:33 am Sunday, April 11, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Calhoun’s J.D. Davison, for a second straight year, has been named the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Basketball.

The award is presented by Alfa Insurance.

Davison, an Alabama signee considered one of the nation’s top players, is the fifth repeat Mr. Basketball winner.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The 6-foot-3 guard was a McDonald’s All-American after averaging 32.4 points, 10.9 rebounds and 4.7 assists this season. Davison, as a junior, averaged 30.3 points, 12 rebounds and 5 assists.

He’s a three-time All-State selection and scored 2,709 career points.


2021: J.D. Davison, Calhoun

2020: J.D. Davison, Calhoun

2019: Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook

2018: Trendon Watford, Mountain Brook

2017: John Petty, Jemison-Huntsville

2016: John Petty, J.O. Johnson

2015: Dazon Ingram, Theodore

2014: William Lee, Dallas Co.

2013: De’Runnya Wilson, Wenonah

2012: Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery

2011: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2010: Trevor Lacey, Butler

2009: Kerron Johnson, Madison Aca.

2008: JaMychal Green, St. Jude

2007: Courtney Fortson, Jeff Davis

2006: Stanley Robinson, Huffman

2005: Richard Hendrix, Athens

2004: Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2003: Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2002: Kennedy Winston, Blount

2001: Chris White, Grissom

2000: Gerald Wallace, Childersburg

1999: Marvin Stone, Grissom

1998: Sam Haginas, UMS-Wright

1997: Anthony Williams, Loachapoka

1996: Isaac Spencer, Jeff Davis

1995: Brian Williams, Jeff Davis

1994: Rod Willie, Lee-Huntsville

1993: Howard Pride, Butler

1992: Darryl Wilson, South Lamar

1991: Victor Newman, Houston Aca.

1990: Cedric Moore, Woodlawn

1989: Queintonia Higgins, Fairhope

1988: Terrence Lewis, Ramsay

1987: Bryant Lancaster, Valley

1986: Larry Rembert, Keith

1985: Vincent Robinson, Bridgeport

1984: Jeff Moore, Midfield

1983: Terry Coner, Phillips-Birmingham