EA’s Sims selected as AISA back of year finalist

Published 5:00 am Sunday, December 26, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Escambia Academy’s Landon Sims is a finalist for the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s AISA Back of the Year award.

The senior quarterback and defensive back was selected as a first-team All-State athlete, and joins AJ Harris of Glenwood and Karl Ligon of Autauga Academy as Back of the Year finalists.

Sims carried the ball 123 times for 1,003 yards and 18 touchdowns. He was 66-of-117 for 1,201 yards and 16 scores in the air.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Defensively, Sims had 73 tackles and caught six interceptions.

The Player of the Year banquet will be held on Jan. 13, 2022 in Montgomery.

The full list of back and lineman of the year finalists is below:

Back of the year
      Conner Harrell, Thompson
      Ryan Peppins, Thompson
      Evan Smith, Oak Mountain
Lineman of the year
      Jeremiah Alexander, Thompson
      Drew Bobo, Auburn
      Justice Finkley, Hewitt-Trussville
Back of the year
      Khalib Johnson, Clay-Chalkville
      Braylon McReynolds, McGill-Toolen
      Earl Woods, Hueytown
Lineman of the year
      Trevon McAlpine, Saraland
      John McMillan, Mountain Brook
      Jaquavious Russaw, Carver-Montgomery
Back of the year
      Quinshon Judkins, Pike Road
      DeMarcus Lacey, Pleasant Grove
      Parker Martin, Fairview
Lineman of the year
      Anez Cooper, Pleasant Grove
      Robert Courtney, UMS-Wright
      Khurtiss Perry, Pike Road
Back of the year
      Antonio Kite, Anniston
      Will Stokes, Madison Academy
      Walter Taylor III, Jackson
Lineman of the year
      Deuce Spurlock, Madison Academy
      Michael Towner, Vigor
      Robert Woodyard, Williamson
Back of the year
      Jeremiah Cobb, Catholic-Montgomery
      Jashawn Cooper, Montgomery Academy
      Jack Hayes, Piedmont
Lineman of the year
      TJ Dudley, Catholic-Montgomery
      AJ Odom, Oakman
      Landon Smart, Piedmont
Back of the year
      Emmanuel Henderson, Geneva Co.
      Jammarian Johnson, Clarke Co.
      Logan Washburn, Cleveland
Lineman of the year
      Keldric Faulk, Highland Home
      Koby Keenum, Mars Hill Bible
      Caden Story, Lanett
Back of the year
      Javion Belle, Pickens Co.
      Brayden Kyle, Decatur Heritage
      Jaland Lewis-Horton, Sweet Water
Lineman of the year
      Kedrick Brown, Brantley
      Michael Alan Cole, Sweet Water
      Tyler Ward, Sweet Water
Back of the year
      AJ Harris, Glenwood
      Karl Ligon, Autauga Academy
      Landon Sims, Escambia Academy
Lineman of the year
      Kross Colley, Chambers Academy
      Trevor Hill, Bessemer Academy
      Keith Williams, Pike Liberal Arts