BOE names new ECMS, ECHS principals; approves personnel recommendations

Published 6:55 pm Monday, April 25, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The next principals at Escambia County Middle and High Schools were named and approved by the Escambia County Board of Education Monday night.

Forrest Jones was named principal at ECMS, and Kike Pettaway was named principal at ECHS.

Superintendent Michele McClung announced the hires after the board met in special session to discuss the good name and character of an employee, and the expulsion of a student. The board met in executive session for approximately 50 minutes.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

From the session, the board approved the following personnel recommendations:


  • Tina Rankins-Stanton, as cosmetology instructor at ECHS, effective April 15, 2022;
  • Ashley Mobley, as special education aide at ECMS, effective March 28, 2022;
  • Marvin Hollingsworth, as custodian at Rachel Patterson Elementary School, effective March 25, 2022;
  • Haley Black, as six-hour lunchroom worker at W.S. Neal Elementary School, effective May 25, 2022;
  • Emily Daly, as social studies teacher at W.S. Neal Middle School, effective May 26, 2022;
  • Dalton Shell, as special education teacher at WSNMS, effective May 26, 2022;
  • Emily Monson, as assistant band director at WSNMS, effective May 26, 2022;
  • Tyler Reeves, as social studies teacher at W.S. Neal High School, effective May 26, 2022;
  • Braxton Mann, as math teacher at WSNHS, effective May 26, 2022;
  • Cody Dixon, as science teacher at WSNHS, effective May 26, 2022;


  • Jerilyn Curry, as ELA Teacher at Flomaton High School, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Virginia Parker, as elementary teacher at Pollard-McCall Junior High School, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Sheila Fountain, as special education instructional aide at RPES, effective June 1, 2022
  • Carolyn Turk, as Pre-K program teacher at RPEs, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Tammy Smith, as physical education teacher at RPES, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Kimberly Waller, as band director at WSNHS, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Deborah Harrison, as bus driver at Atmore Bus Shop, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Lillie Williams, as bus driver at Atmore Bush Shop, effective June 1, 2022;
  • Kenneth Revel, as building construction instructor at Escambia Career Readiness Center, effective July 1, 2022;
  • Terry Malden, as masonry instructor at ECRC, effective July 1, 2022;


  • Richard Aaron, as television broadcasting instructor at FHS, to television broadcasting instructor at ECRC, effective July 1, 2022;

Employment change

  • Jones, as transportation/safety supervisor at Brewton Central Office, to principal at ECMS, effective April 26, 2022, replacing Takecia Barlow;
  • Pettaway, as attendance supervisor at ECBOE, to principal at ECHS, effective July 1, 2022, replacing Amy Cabaniss; and,
  • Billy Baggett, as utility/groundskeeper at Atmore Maintenance Department, to general maintenance worker at East Brewton Maintenance Department, effective May 2, 2022, replacing Tommy Lambeth.

On the recommendation for student expulsion, this was for an ECMS student for a period of up to one calendar year for violation of the ECSS board policy/student code of conduct. Per the ECBOE Policy 4.2.1, the superintendent will allow the student to receive educational services through the Escambia County Alternative School/Virtual School.

The motion passed 4-3 with Boardmembers Danny Benjamin, Cindy Jackson and Sherry Digmon opposing.

In other business, the board:

  • recognized the ECHS boys varsity basketball team for its Class 4A state runner up finish. Each player and coach received a plaque, which was paid for by State Rep. Alan Baker;
  • approved the revision of Section IV General Administration, 4.14, the adoption of Annalyn’s Law;
  • approved the March 2022 financial statement; and,
  • approved to enter into an owner/architect agreement between the ECBOE and PH & J Architects Inc. to provide architectural services for the renovation of the existing athletic field house at ECHS.

The next board of education meeting will be held on May 19, at ECMS, at 4 p.m.