BOE elects president, vice president during Nov. 18 meeting

Published 9:32 am Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Escambia County School System Board Members Danny Benjamin and Cindy Jackson were elected as board president and vice president, respectively, during at regular meeting Nov. 18 at the central office in Brewton.

The election was held pursuant to Alabama Code 16-8-4. The election is held November of each year.

In other business, the board:

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

• received a presentation of Fiscal Year 2021 audit by the State of Alabama’s Department of Examiners of Public Accounts;

• the board completed the certificate of affirmation of school board member;

• swore in Jackson of District 4, and Sherry Digmon of District 6 as new board members. Both were sworn in by Judge Jeff White;

• approved the following personnel recommendations:


• Wayne McMillan, as custodian at Escambia County High School, effective Nov. 28, 2022, replacing Bonnie Johnson;

• Heather Cook, as site coordinator at After School Program at Escambia County Middle School, effective Nov. 28;

• Lauren Kirn, as teacher at After School Program at ECMS, effective Nov. 21;

• Tyler Parker, as teacher at After School Program at ECMS, effective Nov. 28;

• Deborah Salyers, as teacher at After School Program at ECMS, effective Nov. 28;

• Stephanie Bagwell, as instructional aide at Flomaton Elementary School, effective Nov. 28, replacing Pamela Iutzi;

• Jennifer Burkett, as custodian at FES, effective Oct. 31, replacing Pam Iutzi;

• April Blackwell, as teacher at After School Program at Pollard McCall Junior High School, effective Nov. 21;

• Elizabeth Taylor, as teacher at After School Program at PMJHS, effective Nov. 25;

• Ally Edwards, as elementary teacher at Rachel Patterson Elementary School, effective Nov. 14, replacing Amanda Crowder-Flowers;

• Yolanda King, as elementary teacher at RPES, effective Nov. 28, replacing Heather Murphy;

• Stephanie Spicer, as teacher at After School Program at W.S. Neal High School, effective Nov. 28;


• Brandi Graham, as custodian at Flomaton High School, effective Oct. 27; and,


The BOE approved to enter at TEAMS contract with the following:

• David Belanger, math teacher at ECHS;

• Wendy Davidson, science teacher at FHS.