Escambia County BOE honors Teachers of Year at meeting

Published 9:57 am Thursday, January 19, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Escambia County teachers work hard every day for their students, and their work was rewarded last week as the top teacher from each school in the Escambia County School system was honored.

Superintendent Michele McClung presented each of the chosen teachers with a certificate for their work in the schools.

“Our teachers are the epitome of the best of the best,” McClung said. “They are dedicated to excellence as an educator and as an advocator of our students.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Teachers chosen as the top teacher in their schools were:

Rachel Patterson Elementary School- Ms. Rachel Hadley;

At present, Hadley is serving as RPES’ special education teacher. Last year, the students in her class were without a teacher as there was a nationwide shortage of special education teachers, according to officials.

Hadley saw the need, and stepped up to help her school when she was needed the most, Principal Toya McMillian said.

“She was the saving grace for the students in that class,” McMillian added.

McMillian said Hadley is a one in a million kind of teacher.

“Schools do not come across teachers like Mrs. Hadley often,” she said. “Most teachers will not do what she does every day. She is one of the hardest working teachers at Rachel Patterson. She is one of the best. She goes above and beyond her call of duty to meet the individual needs of her students as well as everyone else’s students. She is drawn to situations that others may find to be challenging. If a student with challenges is a student for Mrs. Rachel Hadley, regardless if the student has an IEP or not.”

Other teachers named and recognized as teachers of the year included:

Escambia County Middle School- Elementary- Mr. Alexander Alvarez;

Escambia County Middle School- Secondary- Mr. Jon Durant;

Escambia County High School- Ms. Stephanie Buitron;

Huxford Elementary School-Ms. Tiffany Hammac;

W.S. Neal Elementary School- Mrs. Rachel Wiggins;

W.S. Neal Middle School- Ms. Angel Blackmon and Ms. Jennifer Blaney;

W.S. Neal High School- Ms. Beth Caupp;

Escambia Career Readiness Center- Mr. Thomas Fischer;

Pollard McCall Junior High School-Ms. Tammy Findley;

Flomaton Elementary School- Ms. Jenny Engle; and,

Flomaton High School- Ms. Sharon Morgan.