Northview senior awarded Johnson scholarship award

Published 10:51 am Monday, April 17, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Staff Reports

A Northview High School senior was selected as a recipient of the 2023 Herman D. Johnson Scholarship Award, according to Escambia River Electric Cooperative (EREC) officials.



EREC made the announcement recently, naming NHS senior Drake Driskell of Santa Rosa County, Fla. and Elisabeth Stowers of Santa Rosa County as the scholarship recipients.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Driskell is a senior at Northview High School and is the son of Allen and Michelle Driskell.

Driskell would like to study anesthesiology. He is the academic commander and command master chief for JROTC, Northview class treasurer is involved in several sports such as baseball, cross country and track.

He is the Beta Club president and participates in several clubs such as Math Club, Phi Theta Kappa and Atmore Rotary Club (Academic All-Star).

Driskell was an EREC delegate for the 2022 Tallahassee and Washington Youth Tours.

“This scholarship would allow me to dive deeper into my studies and focus on my education,” Driskell said. “Thank you to EREC for investing in me.”

Stowers is a senior at Central School and is the daughter of Myra Cole Robinson. Stowers plans to use this scholarship to pursue a nursing degree.

She is the Senior Beta president and National Honor Society Officer and participates in several clubs such as Spanish Club and the Debate Club.

She also holds many hours volunteering for New Life Baptist and at events in her community.

“The Herman D. Johnson Scholarship will definitely benefit me,” Stowers said.  “It will help me achieve my goals of becoming a nurse and helping children with cancer. I want them to feel loved and safe through their toughest time.”

“These scholarships are going to two very deserving students, and we are excited to watch them as they follow their dreams,” said Ryan Campbell, CEO of EREC. “EREC has such a rich history of helping our youth, and we are proud to be able to give them a head start on their college careers.”

Driskell and Stowers will receive $1,000 each for four years providing they continue to meet the scholarship criteria.