Kade Snell named ASWA’s Community College Athlete of the Year

Published 1:07 pm Thursday, June 8, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Special to the Advance

Chalk up yet another accomplishment for Kade Snell as the Wallace College-Dothan baseball standout has been named the state’s Community College Athlete of the Year by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Snell, a University of Alabama signee who started his college career at Auburn, was recently named the All-South District Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year for the Alabama Community College Conference after previously being named the All-South Division Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year and first team All-South Division designated hitter.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In compiling a 10-0 record in 14 games started for the Govs on the mound this past season, Snell had a 1.86 earned run average, which was best in the state. He also recorded a state-best 87 strikeouts.

But the former Wicksburg High School standout has been much more than just a dominant left-handed pitcher. The versatile Snell, who also played first base at times, was a designated hitter and played a few games in left field, was also a force at the plate.

Snell hit for a .393 average, drove in a state-best 70 runs and hit 13 homers on the season in helping Wallace to a 42-19 record and runner-up finish in the state tournament. Snell even showed his speed in stealing nine bases.

It was quite a season for the sophomore who didn’t see any action in his first season at Auburn in 2021 before transferring back home to attend Wallace College and eventually signing with Alabama.

In his freshman year, Snell hit .396 with five home runs for the Govs. On the mound, he struck out 45 batters in 66 innings pitched.

“I love Wallace College,” Snell said in a recent Dothan Eagle story. “This school means everything to me. I was going through a rough time in my life and pretty much thought maybe baseball wasn’t for me.

“I was ready to hang it up, but then I came to Wallace and I came home. Everything turned around. I got so much support from everybody.”

Story by Jon Johnson, Dothan Eagle 

Previous winners

2021 Felicity Frame
2020 Hayden Carner
2019 Imari Martin
2018 Demarkus Lampley
2017 Cierra Johnson
2016 Jackson Hesterlee
2015 Courtney Shields
2014 Rachel Ragland
2013 Courtney Shields
2012 John Michael O’Toole
2011 Sean Hiller
2010 Sarah Weldemann
2009 Wes Cook
2008 Zach Primavera
2007 Jennifer Sexton
2006 Cory Cooperwood
2005 Will Ginn
2004 Blair Potter
2003 Jean Felix
2002 Daniel Hill
2001 Rodney Blas
2000 Becky Stone
1999 Justin Shelwood
1998 Stacey Breeding
1997 Jerome Young
1996 Adrian Pledger
1995 Ricky Collins
1994 Andrew Hunter Harris
1993 Al Dillar
1992 Jana Simmons
1991 Leonard White