Ryley Harrison, Hayes Harrison named Miss Softball, Mr. Baseball by the ASWA Sunday

Published 12:37 pm Monday, June 12, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

JACKSONVILLE –- Fairhope’s Ryley Harrison and Oxford’s Hayes Harrison, after highlight-filled seasons, collected the state’s biggest high school baseball and softball awards.

Ryley Harrison was named Miss Softball and Hayes Harrison won Mr. Baseball, the Alabama Sports Writers Association announced Sunday at its annual convention.

Ryley Harrison hit 20 home runs and had a 1.007 slugging percentage for the Class 7A runner-up Pirates. She finished with 76 RBIs and scored 36 runs in 51 games. With 33 walks, Harrison had a .572 on-base percentage. At pitcher, she was 26-1 with an 0.70 ERA and 375 strikeouts in 30 games.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Hayes Harrison was 13-0 with an 1.28 ERA in 71 innings this season for the Class 6A champion Yellow Jackets. He walked 11 and struck out 82, holding hitters to a .160 average. With a bat, Harrison had a .497 on-base percentage and 38 RBIs in 41 games.

Hayes Harrison is Oxford’s second Mr. Baseball. Matthew Maniscalco won the original award in 1999.

Ryley Harrison has signed with South Alabama, and Hayes Harrison has signed with Northwest-Shoals Community College. They are not related.


Ryley Harrison, Fairhope


Hayes Harrison, Oxford


(top 10 players regardless of classification)


Ryley Harrison, Fairhope

Taniyah Brown, Brewbaker Tech

Mya Holt, Wetumpka

Mia Tidmore, Plainview

Ambrey Taylor, Curry

Alyssa Faircloth, Tuscaloosa Co.

Hannah Dorsett, Hewitt-Trussville

Morgan Stiles, Athens

Bradyn Mitchell, Hatton

Kaylee Navarre, Brantley


Hayes Harrison, Oxford

Jackson Harris, Vestavia Hills

Caleb Freeman, Etowah

Sam Silas, Holtville

Coleman Mizell, Hartselle

Jax Yoxtheimer, Central-Phenix City

Miles Edwards, Lauderdale Co.

Landon Alton, Thompson

Cale Tittle, Lynn

Peyton Webb, Donoho


2023: Ryley Harrison, Fairhope

2022: Kenleigh Cahalan, Hewitt-Trussville

2021: Annabelle Widra, Spain Park

2020: No award because of COVID-19 pandemic

2019: Libby Baker, G.W. Long

2018: Leanna Johnson, Brantley

2017: Annie Willis, Westminster-Huntsville

2016: Ashlee Swindle, Curry

2015: Lacey Sumerlin, Baker

2014: Madi Moore, Winfield

2013: Kasey Cooper, Dothan

2012: Haylie McCleney, Mortimer Jordan

2011: Shelby Holley, Pisgah

2010: Leigh Streetman, Hueytown

2009: Hilary Phillips, Ider

2008: Lindsey Dunlap, Hueytown

2007: Whitney Larsen, Vestavia Hills

2006: Anna Thompson, Grissom

2005: Tara Donaldson, Baker

2004: Anna Thompson, Grissom

2003: Holly Currie, Pisgah


2023: Hayes Harrison, Oxford

2022: Riley Quick, Hewitt-Trussville

2021: Maddux Bruns, UMS-Wright

2020: No award because of COVID-19 pandemic

2019: Gunnar Henderson, Morgan Academy

2018: Jeremiah Jackson, St. Luke’s

2017: Tanner Burns, Decatur

2016: Owen Lovell, Cullman

2015: Brax Garrett, Florence

2014: Cody Reed, Ardmore

2013: Keegan Thompson, Cullman

2012: Mikey White, Spain Park

2011: Daniel Koger, Huntsville

2010: Daryl Norris, Fairhope

2009: Luke Bole, Hartselle

2008: Tyler Stovall, Hokes Bluff

2007: John David Smelser, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa

2006: Del Howell, American Christian

2005: Colby Rasmus, Russell Co.

2004: Patrick White, Daphne

2003: Joey Doan, Baker

2002: Allen Ponder, Lee-Scott

2001: Eric West, Southside-Gadsden

2000: Wade Miller, G.W. Long

1999: Matthew Maniscalco, Oxford