County BOE to submit results of super’s evaluation Wednesday during special-called meeting

Published 8:55 am Tuesday, August 29, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Escambia County Board of Education will submit its results of an evaluation of Superintendent Michele McClung during a special-called board meeting tomorrow, Wed., Aug. 30.

The board of education met in a workshop and regular session Aug. 24, from which the results of the evaluation was to be determined.

During the workshop, McClung spent about an hour laying out the accomplishments made in the two years she has been at the helm of the system.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The presentation, which outlined improvements across the county’s system, was made ahead of the planned evaluation of McClung’s position since her contract began in August 2021.

During the regular meeting, when the agenda item of evaluation was addressed, Board member Kevin Hoomes said he was not prepared to complete his evaluation forms at that time. That sentiment was echoed by other board members, including Sherry Digmon, Loumeek White and Cindy Jackson.

“This was just sprung on us today,”  Hoomes said. “I’m not going to be pressured to make a decision on something so important.”

Board Attorney Kirk Garrett said that an immediate completion of the evaluation was not mandated, but that the forms need to be completed as soon as possible.

“It is up to the board to decide on a timeline,” Garrett said. “But, it is important to not spend forever to get it done.”

Garrett reminded the board that the timeline would be beneficial should an unsatisfactory result occur in the evaluation process.

“The collection of the results in eight of the 11 categories on the evaluation will be summarized,” Garrett said. “A score of 3 or higher in any category would be considered satisfactory. It would be beneficial to the board to make a determination no later than November. That would provide time for rehiring for the position if the contract isn’t going to be renewed.”

A special called meeting of the board will take place today (Wednesday) at 9 a.m.  at which time Garrett would have received all evaluations from members and compiled a summary to present at that meeting.

The Atmore Advance will provide updated information on our website following the Wednesday meeting of the board.

In other business, the board approved the following personnel recommendations:


Ronald Hall, bus driver, Atmore bus shop, effective Aug. 31;


Darrell Spencer, culinary teacher at ECHS, Effective Aug. 23;

Sandi McMurphy, teacher aid at ECMS, effective Aug. 1;

Benjamin Ard, elementary teacher, ECMS, effective July 24;

Michael Sullivan, PE teacher at Huxford, effective Aug. 13;

Diana Graczyk, 6-hour lunchroom worker at Rachel Patterson, effective Aug. 14;

Samantha Gann, elementary teacher at WSN Elementary, effective Aug. 31;

Cameron Simon, speech language pathologist with office of Special Education and Student Services, effective Aug. 8;


Sarah Weaver, PreK Auxiliary teacher, A.C. Moore, replacing Maranda Lambeth;

Cynthia Clack, PreK Auxiliary teacher, A.C. Moore;

India LaPalme, PreK teacher, A.C. Moore;

Nathan Taylor, secondary teacher at ECHS replacing Melvin Jones;

Shannon Blanton, teacher aide at ECHS, replacing Joel Gonzalez;

Lasha McCarthy, 7-hour lunchroom worker at ECMS, replacing Sherie Johnson;

Stacey Combs, 6-hour lunchroom worker at ECMS replacing Victoria Shipp;

Seth Harwell, elementary teacher at ECMS replacing Kathleen Camp;

Khalil Nettles, secondary teacher at Flomaton HS, replacing Daniel Killiam;

Samanta Pearson, custodian at Pollard-McCall, replacing Rufus White;

Kendra Valenzuela, 6-hour lunchroom worker at Rachel Patterson, replacing Mary Hubert;

Brenda Harrell, elementary teacher at Rachel Patterson, replacing Melanie Griffith;

Deanna Edwards, instructional teacher aide at WSN Elementary, replacing Kaylee Gann;

Glyniss Booker, English/Language Arts teacher at WSN Middle, replacing Jenniver Lee;

Sally Denton, part-time academic interventionist at WSN Elementary;

Joseph Brown, general maintenance at Brewton replacing Ervin Carnley;

Teresa Lambeth, special needs bus aid at Brewton, replacing Rheanna Thomas;

William Shell, special needs bus aide at Brewton;

Darryl Phillips, bus driver, Brewton, replacing Marie Baggett;

Julie Carnley, bus drive, Brewton, replacing Latisha Hall;

Stacey Fuqua, bus driver, Brewton, replacing Robert Spicer;

Albert Grassia, technology technician with technology department, replacing Travis Kelley;

Employment Change:

Veronica Fore, from payroll and insurance bookkeeper to payroll and benefits superviser, replacing Teresa Armstrong;

Rachel Wiggins from Math Coach to elementary teacher at WSN Elementary, replacing Samantha Gann;

Dalton Shell, from special education aide at WSN Middle to physical education teacher at Huxford Elementary, replacing Michael Sullivan;

Kisha Hagan from bus driver at Brewton to 6-hour lunchroom worker at Flomaton, replacing Retha Hoomes;


Wesley Sessions from physical education teacher at Flomaton Elementary to physical education teacher at Flomaton High School;


Haley Boutwell as 6-hour lunchroom worker at Flomaton, replacing Devony Bowden;

Katrina Anthony, social studies teacher at WSN High School;

Latisha Hall, bus driver, Brewton, replacing Kisha Hagan.