Escambia Academy’s Johnson named 2024 Escambia County DYW

Published 10:07 pm Saturday, September 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Escambia Academy’s Hannah Johnson was named the 2024 Escambia County Distinguished Young Woman tonight in a program held at Flomaton High School.

Johnson was one of nine young women vying for the honor.

In recognition of the top honor, Johnson received a $1,500 cash scholarship. She also received the Spirit of DYW award that was voted on by participants in the program. The honor brought along a $300 cash scholarship. Hannah was also named the winner in the Interview category of judging bringing another $250 cash scholarship.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Johnson will be moving on to the state competition to be held in Montgomery in January 2024.

Named first runner-up was Abby Black, a student at T.R. Miller High School in Brewton. The first runner-up received a $750 cash scholarship for her position. Black was also the winner in the Scholastic category of judging as well as the talent portion of the judged events. Those wins brought an additional $400 and $250 cash scholarship, respectively.

Named second runner-up in the program was Olivia Beasley, a student at T.R. Miller High School. The position earned Beasley a $500 cash scholarship. Beasley was also named the winner in the Fitness and Self Expression portions of the judged event. Each of the category wins carried a $250 cash scholarship.

Other participants in the program were Emily Pettis – W.S. Neal High School; Madison Simpson – W.S. Neal High School; Madison Dawkins – W.S. Neal High School; Browyn Patterson – W.S. Neal High School; Zoe Selario – T.R. Miller High School; and Peyton Boling – T.R. Miller High School.