Mary V. Godwin

Published 11:52 am Friday, October 13, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Mary Virginia “Bell” Godwin, a beloved member of the Poarch Band of Creek Indians, passed away on Oct. 10, 2023.

Bell is survived by her loving children, Chastity (Bo) Hobbs, Chad (Catherine) Godwin and Joey (Kathy) McGugin; her grandchildren, Josh (Jordan) Peebles, Colton (Kaylee) Peebles, Nevaeh Godwin, Niko Godwin and Niyah Godwin; her eight brothers, Roy Rolin, Walter (Anita) Rolin, Kenneth Wayne Rolin, Anthony (Jennifer) Rolin, Deno (Necole) Rolin, Johnny Mack Rolin, Aubrey (Natasha) Rolin and Shawn (Stephanie) Rolin; her sister, Tonya (Wesley) Rayborn; and her six special sisters, Dianna Rolin, Tina Rolin, Gloria Sells Krafka, Kathy McDuffie, Alice Gibson and Georgia Lee Griffey.

She was preceded in death by her beloved husband, Alton Edward “Hawkeye” Godwin; her parents, Eugene Buster and Bessie Mooneyham Rolin; her great-grandson, Baby Peebles; her three brothers, Donnie Rolin, Earnest Rolin and Harvey Rolin; her sister, Peggy Sue Couch; and her nephew, Bradley Rolin.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The wake will be held at Poarch Community Church on Oct. 15, 2023, from 6 p.m. until morning. Services will take place at 2 p.m. on Mon., Oct. 16, 2023, at McCullough Christian Church. Graveside services will take place at Judson Cemetery in Poarch.

Food and fellowship will be held immediately after graveside services at Poarch Community Church.

Pallbearers include Josh Peebles, Colton Peebles, Joey Barber, Jason Griffey, Adam Hadley, Phillip Godwin, Travis Daughtry and Dave Dunsford. Honorary pallbearers include Roy Rolin, Anthony Dale Rolin, Deno Rolin, Shawn Rolin, Johnny Mack Rolin, Kenneth Rolin, Anthony Rolin, Aubrey Rolin, Lawrence Peebles, Dillon Lowrey, Larry McDuffie, Phillip Martin, Tony Sells, Bert Gantt, James Wilson, Joshua Hammac, Shane Gibson, Johnnie Ray Steadham, Deno Dustin Rolin, Earnest Dean Rolin, Bradley Houston Rolin, Gary Ray Gibson, Bryan Couch, Skylar Rolin, Tyee Rolin, Danny Couch, Dustin Rayburn, Kenny Wayne Rolin Jr., Nikya Rolin, Trenton Rayburn, Jeremiah Powell and Gloria Sells Krafka.