ECHS honors cheerleaders, football players during awards program March 20

Published 7:40 pm Wednesday, March 20, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Escambia County football players and cheerleaders were honored during the school’s Football Awards Program March 20.

The annual event is held to honor those student-athletes who have excelled on the field and in the classroom.

Individual and special awards were given to members of both teams.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Special 2023 cheerleading awards were presented to:

• Most Skilled Cheerleader – Ziyhona Moye

• Junior Varsity Cheerleading Captain – Janea Dillard

• Cheerleading Captain – Tiarra Lee

The 2023 Blue Devil Community Service awards were presented to Michael Wilson, Harold Askew and Principal Layton Knight. Knight is transitioning from being a coach to a full-time principal.

Special 2023 football awards were presented to:

• Rookie of the Year – Jayln James

• All In Award – Elijah Thomas Jr.

• Defensive Lineman of the Year – Keeshan McKenzie

• Linebacker of the Year – Markavion Dixon

• Running back of the Year – James Whatley

• Defensive Back of the Year – Marrion Hooks

• Wide receiver of the Year – Lorenzo Arnold Jr.

• Offensive Lineman of the Year – Jacarion King

• Blue Devil Award – Jamarion Robinson, McKenzie, Brandon Dean, King, Devin Riley, Gabe Hooks, Exavion Bradley, Thomas, Jovaughntai Henerson, Hooks, LJ Riley and Luis Garcia

• Special Teams Player of the Year – Dallas Owens

• Defensive Player of the Year – Michael French

• Offensive Player of the Year – Robinson

• Most Valuable Player of the Year – Arnold