On the sideline

Published 9:44am Saturday, August 17, 2013

Upcoming football games
Escambia County High School opens up the preseason with a trip to Saraland at 7 p.m. on Friday.

Northview High School hosts Class 4A Bay High School in its Kickoff Classic at 7 p.m. Friday.

Escambia Academy travels to Faulkner University in Montgomery on Saturday, Aug. 24 at 4 p.m. to take on Glenwood.

In week one of the regular season,  which is Aug. 30, ECHS takes on T.R. Miller in Brewton.

That same week, Northview takes on Bozeman and EA travels to Greenville to take on Fort Dale Academy.

Registration for flag football starts Saturday, Aug. 24
Registration for a new flag football league in Atmore will take place Saturday, Aug. 24 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. in City Hall.

There is no fee for registration in the new 7-on-7 league. The only expense for parents will be a jersey, which will cost between $8 and $10.

Registration is open for children ages 6 to 12.

For more information call Atmore Pee Wee Football President Murray Johnson at (251) 294-1128, or Jerome Webster at (251) 294-2352.

Northview releases volleyball schedule
The Lady Chiefs open the year with a preseason match at 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 22 in Bratt in a tri-match against Jay, Central and PCC.

The first regular season game takes place at 5 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 26 against Holmes County. The following day the Lady Chiefs welcome Catholic High School to Bratt for junior varsity and varsity matches that begin at 5 p.m.

Northview travels to Baker at 5 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 5.

The Lady Chiefs host Central at 4:30 p.m.on Tuesday, Sept. 10 and they travel to Jay on Thursday, Sept. 12 for a 5 p.m. start.

On Sept. 16, the Lady Chiefs play a tri-match in Flomaton against the hosts and Pleasant Home.

Thursday, Sept. 19 is dig pink for the Lady Chiefs where they host Baldwin County High School before traveling to Spanish Fort on Saturday, Aug. 21 for a tournament.

Jay comes to Bratt at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 24. The Lady Chiefs then travel to Jay to take on Freeport at 4 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 26.

The Lady Chiefs host a varsity tournament on Saturday, Sept. 28. Game times to be announced.

Baker comes to Bratt on Tuesday, Oct. 1 for a 4:30 p.m. match before Chipley visits for a 4 p.m. match on Thursday, Oct. 3.

Senior night is slated for Oct. 8 at 4:30 p.m. against PCC. The Lady Chiefs then travel to Pensacola on Oct. 10 to take on Catholic.

They travel to Bay Minette to take on BCHS at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 15 before finishing the regular season on Thursday, Oct. 17 at Central.

Editor's Picks