BOE approves changes

Published 12:01 am Wednesday, May 24, 2017

By Corey Williams

The Escambia County Board of Education approved a number of personnel changes at its meeting Thurs., May 18.

Resignations included:

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

• Teresa Armstrong, board secretary, Brewton central office, effective June 30;

• Joanna Varner, third grade teacher, Flomaton Elementary School, effective May 26.

• Daniel Atkins, assistant band director, Escambia County Middle School, effective May 26.

• Sharon Bell, trainer. Atmore and Brewton Bus Shops, effective May 1; and,

• Erin Straughn, P.E. teacher, Escambia County High School, effective May 26.


• Anna Wheeler, elementary teacher, Rachel Patterson Elementary School, to elementary teacher, ECMS, effective Aug. 4 (replacing Deborah Thrash), and,

• Tansey Espey, P.E. teacher, FES, to elementary teacher, RPES, effective Aug. 4 (replacing Anna Wheeler).

Title I Jump Start Summer Program Personnel hired included:

• FES: teacher, Leah Vickery; substitute teachers, Jenny Engle, Blair Singleton and Heather Qualls; teacher aides, Courtney Johnson and Brittany Evans

• Huxford Elementary School; teacher, Elizabeth Tucker; teacher aide, Deborah Peterson;

• RPES; bus driver, Jean Montel; teacher aides, Natashcia Kidd and Allison Brooks; substitute teacher, Anna Wheeler; and,

• W.S. Neal Elementary School; bus driver, Lori Benton.

The 21st Century Community Learning Center Summer Program:

• A.C. Moore Elementary School: site co-coordinators, Kathy Shehan and Brandy Baggett; teachers, Kathy Shehan, Rebecca Murray, Brandy Baggett, Cordia Lee; substitute teacher, Rachel Hadley; community educator, Doris Johnson and Rebecca Lassiter; student workers. Savannah Tingle, Kimberly Waldrop, Chelsey Day; custodian, Jennifer Burkett; bus driver, Lillie Williams

• ECMS: teachers: Michael Bowen, Layton Knight, Danielle Logan, Brittany Linam; student workers, Eboni Williams, Angelica Clack, Nicholas Davidson; bus drivers, Lisa Biggs and Sharon Rose; site coordinator, Marcia Adams; community educator, Ruth Harris; and custodian, James Williams.

Extended summer program:

• A.C. Moore: teacher, Brian Stallworth;

• FES: teacher aide, Sydney Bell;

• FHS: teachers, Phillip Bell and Jeffrey Haney;

• ECMS: teachers, Levon Wright and Jamila Russell; and teacher, Talia Wright.

• RPES: teacher aides, Casey Lodge and Stephanie Mosley; substitute aide, Rachel Mooney; and substitute teacher, Lora Matheny;

• WSNES: teachers, Gloria Hill and Kristin Kemp; and,

• WSNMS: teachers, Erin Howard, Schwayn Bradley, Jennifer Blaney and Sandra Barrow.

Summer maintenance custodians:

• A.C. Moore: Stephen Gehman;

• ECHS: Rhett Tranchina and Daniel Currie;

• ECMS: James Williams;

• FES: Caleb Ingram;

• FHS: Jill Byrd;

• Huxford: Connie Waller;

• Pollard-McCall Junior High School: Rufus White and Omar Ellington;

• RPES: Charles Jackson;

• WSNES: Kendall Richardson and Doris Watson;

• WSNMS: Jason Thomas;

• WSN: Ben Quimby and Tiffany Waguespack; and,

• Turtle Point Science Center– Kathy Steadham

They voted to hire the following student summer workers:

• ECHS: Kenneth Craft, Tristen Maddox and Jaylen Brown;

• ECMS: Eric McMillian;

• FHS: Tyler Renfroe and Dejuan Armstrong;

• WSN: Victoria Rabon and De’Ron Smith; and,

• Escambia Career Readiness Center: Brian Martin and Garrett Salter.

Other employee changes included:

• Jade Danley, special education teacher, location to be assigned, effective Aug. 4;

• Michell Wright, special education teacher, location to be assigned, effective Aug. 4;

• Cody Pridgen, mechanic, Brewton bus shop, effective May 22 (replacing Alfred Johnson); and,

• Robert Spicer, bus driver, Atmore YMCA Summer Program, effective June 5;

• Alfred Johnson, mechanic, Brewton Bus Shop, to head mechanic, Brewton Bus Shop, effective May 22 (replacing Anthony Mosley).