Saraland’s Williams repeats as Mr. Football

Published 4:19 pm Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Special to the Advance

Saraland receiver Ryan Williams, after making history as the first sophomore to win Mr. Football last season, made some more Tuesday.

He’s the first two-time Mr. Football.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Williams, along with each classification’s back and lineman of the year, were honored at a luncheon banquet at the Montgomery Renaissance sponsored by ALFA Insurance and the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

The awards are presented by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Williams helped lead the Spartans to a 14-1 record and a Class 6A runner-up finish this season. Over the last two years, Saraland was 29-1.

He was a junior during the season but has reclassified and will graduate with the Class of 2024.

In 2023, Williams finished with 71 catches for 1,320 yards and 19 touchdowns. He also scored seven rushing touchdowns and on two punt returns. Williams also threw a TD pass.

In 2022, he caught 88 passes for 1,641 yards and 24 touchdowns, ran 57 times for 700 yards and 15 TDs and scored twice on punt returns. Add in a scoring pass and Williams was part of 42 touchdowns.

Williams was just the second Mr. Football underclassman. Running back La’Damian Webb won as a junior at Beauregard in 2016.

This year, there were 1,371 players nominated from 282 schools for the 480 All-State spots.



Ryan Williams, Saraland



(top 12 players regardless of school’s classification)

Ryan Williams, Saraland

Jaylen Mbakwe, Clay-Chalkville

Cam Coleman, Central-Phenix City

Alvin Henderson, Elba

Ronnie Royal, Gulf Shores

Jacob Cornejo, Cherokee Co.

KJ Lacey, Saraland

DJ Barber, Clay-Chalkville

KJ Jackson, St. James

Andrew Alford, Central-Phenix City

Malik Blocton, Pike Road

Caleb McCreary, Catholic-Montgomery



7A: Cam Coleman, Central-Phenix City

6A: Ryan Williams, Saraland

5A: Ronnie Royal, Gulf Shores

4A: Jacob Cornejo, Cherokee Co.

3A: KJ Jackson, St. James

2A: Preston Lancaster, Tuscaloosa Academy

1A: Alvin Henderson, Elba

AISA: Clayton Hussey, Lowndes Academy



7A: Bradley Shaw, Hoover

6A: DJ Barber, Clay-Chalkville

5A: QB Reese, Ramsay

4A: Joseph Phillips, BTW-Tuskegee

3A: Kentonio Kelly Jr., Mobile Christian

2A: Tucker Wilks, Fyffe

1A: Tim Parnell, Leroy

AISA: Jay Lindsey, Patrician



(originally named Dec. 23)

7A: Zach Golson, Mary Montgomery

6A: Drew Gilmer, Clay-Chalkville

5A: Jake Ganus, Moody

4A: Lawrence O’Neal, BTW-Tuskegee

3A: Ronnie Cottrell, Mobile Christian

2A: Billy Adams, Locust Fork

1A: Chan Lowe, Leroy

AISA: Lebo Jones, Wilcox Academy



2023: Ryan Williams, Saraland receiver

2022: Ryan Williams, Saraland receiver

2021: Ryan Peppins, Thompson receiver

2020: GaQuincy McKinstry, Pinson Valley receiver/defensive back


2019: Kristian Story, Lanett quarterback

2018: Bo Nix, Pinson Valley quarterback

2017: Asa Martin, Austin running back

2016: La’Damian Webb, Beauregard running back

2015: Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort quarterback


2014: Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy running back

2013: Racean Thomas, Oxford running back

2012: Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery quarterback

2011: T.J. Yeldon, Daphne running back

2010: Jamal Golden, Wetumpka quarterback


2009: Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County quarterback

2008: Clint Moseley, Leroy quarterback

2007: Julio Jones, Foley receiver

2006: Larry Smith, Prattville quarterback

2005: Andre Smith, Huffman offensive lineman


2004: Jarod Bryant, Hoover quarterback

2003: Chris Nickson, Pike Co. quarterback

2002: JaMarcus Russell, Williamson quarterback

2001: Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville quarterback

2000: Carnell Williams, Etowah running back


1999: Cory Whisenant, Springville running back

1998: DeMarco McNeil, Blount defensive lineman

1997: Mac Campbell, Alexandria running back

1996: Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa running back

1995: Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis tight end


1994: Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley running back

1993: Thomas Banks, West Jefferson running back

1992: Freddie Kitchens, Etowah quarterback

1991: Robert Davis, Homewood running back

1990: David Palmer, Jackson-Olin receiver


1989: Steven Coleman, Pike Co. running back

1988: Darrell Williams, Vigor running back

1987: Robert Jones, Parker running back

1986: Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery running back

1985: Pierre Goode, Hazlewood running back


1984: Roderick Green, Gardendale receiver

1983: Freddy Weygand, Emma Sansom receiver

1982: Tommy Compton, Vigor quarterback