ECHS to begin year without principal

Published 7:26 am Wednesday, August 16, 2000

Advance Staff Writer
Barring any last-minute action by the school board, Escambia County High School will open Friday without a principal.
Monday, the Board of Education rejected Superintendent Dr. Margaret Breland-Bradley's recommendation for the principal's position at ECHS.
Following an executive session, the board voted four to two against hiring Dr. Deadra Lamar Powe of Mobile. Board members Danny Benjamin and W.J. Grissett voted to hire Powe. Members Janice Ash, Jimmy Dukes, Mike Goolsby and A.D. Johnson voted against hiring her. Board member Roger Madden was absent.
However, the board voted unanimously to transfer David McKinley from special education supervisor to assistant principal at ECHS. He replaces Dennis Hadaway who was transferred to W.S. Neal Middle. McKinley joins Patsy Jacks replacing Mack Salter who retired during the school year.
Dr. Powe and her family attended the dedication and open house at the new Escambia County Middle School Sunday afternoon. She has a daughter who would have attended ECMS and a son who would have attended ECHS.
Dr. Powe currently serves as assistant principal at Alma Bryant High School in Mobile. She has been in education for 17 years, serving as a English teacher, English Department chairperson, assistant principal, all on the high school level; a middle school principal and a part-time instructor on the community college level.
She received her doctorate in educational leadership at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Other personnel matters were passed without dissension following the executive session which lasted an hour and 40 minutes.
Betty Hooks, 10 hours per month, custodian, Atmore Central Office.
Kelly Whitman, special education teacher, W.S. Neal Middle School.
Andrea S. Lindsey, biology teacher, Escambia County High School.
Amy Hatfield, mathematics teacher, W.S. Neal High School.
Sandra Rayfield, special education teacher, W.S. Neal Middle School, replacing Kelly Whitman.
Melvin Kersey, social studies teacher and assistant coach, W.S. Neal High School, replacing Scott Holmes.
Angela Brown, third grade teacher, A.C. Moore Elementary.
Donald Koon, band director, Flomaton High School, replacing Gary Rudolph.
Marcus Williams, custodian, Escambia County Middle School, replacing Francis Holsonback.
Audrey Christian Gutherie, seventh and eighth grade mathematics teacher, Flomaton Middle School, replacing Michael Scott Campbell.
Tuboise Floyd, mathematics teacher, Escambia County High School, replacing Paul Lanclos.
Ryan Stokes, biology teacher, Escambia County High School, replacing Andrea Lindsey.
Erskine Packer, custodian, Escambia County High School.
Judith Adams, three hours per day dance instructor, Escambia County Middle School, funded out of local school funds.
Claudia S. Curry, guidance counselor, Escambia County High School, replacing Vicki Mason.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox