Nominations being accepted for Atmore's Citizen of Year

Published 12:25 pm Wednesday, December 20, 2000

Advance Staff Writer
Since 1978, the Atmore Area Chamber of Commerce has honored a Citizen of the Year, nominated by peers, selected by peers.
The announcement is made at the chamber banquet each January. But before that, area citizens are invited to nominate someone they feel exemplifies the best Atmore has to offer.
Atmoreans honored since 1978 are Nathan Gross, Mayor Patricia P. McKenzie, William F. Farr, John Garrard Jr., Raymond L. Bolden, Sarah S. Fayard, Leslie Miles Horn, Ellen H. Maddox, Ben L. Haley, G.R. Swift Jr., Ulay K. Wise, Charles C. "Bud" Mayson (posthumously), Alice R. Mayson (posthumously), Mary Grissett, Virginia King, Judith and Randall Adams, Benjamin C. Maxwell M.D., John Henderson (posthumously), Elise S. Crook, James F. Corman, Frances E. Dunn, Robert R. Jones III and Sally Pitts.
While the Citizen of the Year Award is presented annually, the Lifetime Achievement Award is presented as warranted.
Four have received this honor since the award's inception in 1996 – J.B. Thomas M.D. (posthumously), Hugo Esneul, J.B. Swift Jr., William F. Corman.
The chamber's banquet date will be announced. As always, it will be held in the latter part of January.
To nominate someone for either award, send a nomination letter stating the nominee's contributions to: Atmore Area Chamber of Commerce, 501 South Pensacola Ave., Atmore, AL 36502. Nominations must be received by 5 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 16.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox