PCI Council undergoes change

Published 3:54 pm Wednesday, March 21, 2001

Advance Staff Writer
The face of the Poarch Creek Tribal Council continues to change since the election last June.
Council member William Bailey stepped down earlier this year, becoming the second council member to resign in four months.
Bailey resigned for health reasons. Terri Watkins was appointed to fill his seat on the council. In last year's election, Watkins was one of 10 candidates running for three seats on the council. In the field of 10, Watkins came in fifth.
Last fall, Lamar Martin resigned as vice chairman of the council and relinquished his seat on the council at the same time, leaving two vacancies to be filled. The council appointed Lavan Martin to take the council seat and Buford Rolin to step up to vice chairman.
Lavan Martin narrowly missed winning a council seat last year, coming in only one vote behind Eddie Tullis.
Three council seats become vacant each year, and each member serves for two years – if every election is valid. An election is valid only if at least one-third of eligible tribal members vote.
A past invalid election has caused five seats to come open for this June's election.
Those are the seats of David Gehman, Lavan Martin (finishing Lamar Martin's term), Fred McGhee, Pearline McGhee, and Terri Watkins (finishing William Bailey's term).
Not up for reelection this year are Eddie Tullis, Daniel McGhee, Buford Rolin and Ronnie Jackson.
Fred McGhee serves as tribal chairman. If he is reelected, he will automatically continue as tribal chairman. If he's not elected, a new chairman will be appointed.
The tribal election will be held June 2.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox