Thirteen vie for five PCI tribal council seats

Published 6:39 pm Sunday, May 13, 2001

Advance Staff Writer
Thirteen candidates will appear on the June 2 ballot to fill five vacant seats on the Poarch Creek Indian Tribal Council.
The 13 candidates are Amy Bryan, Peggy Couch, David Gehman, Lavan Martin, Fred Lee McGhee, John A. McGhee, Mal McGhee, Pearline McGhee, Keesha O'Barr, Carolyn Rackard, Timothy Ramer, Teresa O'Barr Thomas and Terri Watkins.
Three council seats become vacant each year and each member serves for two years if every election is valid. A past invalid election has caused five seats to come open for this June's election.
Those are the seats of David Gehman, Lavan Martin (finishing the term of council Lamar Martin who resigned), Fred McGhee, Pearline McGhee, and Terri Watkins (finishing the term of William Bailey who resigned). Not up for reelection this year are Eddie Tullis, Daniel McGhee, Buford Rolin and Ronnie Jackson.
Fred McGhee currently serves as tribal chairman. If he is reelected, he will automatically continue as tribal chairman. If he's not elected to the council, a new chairman will be appointed.
The schedule for the election is as follows:
May 3 – Walk-in and absentee balloting began
May 23 – Last date for candidates to submit an observer
May 29 – Last day for walk-in voting
June 2 – Tribal Election Day – Polls open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox