Beavers win city crown

Published 9:07 pm Wednesday, July 4, 2001

Advance Managing Editor
The Staff Chevrolet Beavers brought their big bats out for the Minor League city tournament championship game last week and pounded the Swift Supply Lions, 21-3. The Beavers won two straight against the Lions to take the city crown.
Haden McGill and Jon Dean led the Beavers with three runs each. Nick Flowers, Garrett Walley, Cody James, Josh Peoples, Devante Brown, James Dean and Gavin Salter scored two runs each. Colby White also scored.
Brad Mitchell, Perry Jones and Austin Prosser scored for the Lions.
Beavers 15, Lions 6
One game earlier, the Beavers had to win to stay in the tourney after having lost earlier in the tourney. The Lions were undefeated coming in.
But, the Beavers forced another game by defeating the Lions 15-6 on June 26.
Garrett Walley and Haden McGill led the Beavers with three runs each. Nick Flowers, Jon Dean and Josh Peoples scored two runs each. Cody Janes, Clayton Johnson and Marshall Burkette also scored.
Buddy Valentine, Tyler Mosser, Wesley Sirmon, Gary Barnes, Darian Henderson and Thomas Moore scored for the Lions.
Beavers 17, Bears 11
The Beavers wrestled a win away from the Edgar Business Machine Bears, 17-11, on June 26.
Leading the Beaver offense were Haden McGill and Jon Dean with three runs each. Cody Janes, Devante Brown, Gavin Salter and James Dean scored two runs each. Nick Flowers, Clayton Johnson and Colby White also scored.
Cedric Pierce led the Bears with three runs each. Randy Fretwell, Tanner Kirk and Kent Howard scored two runs each. Robert Poole and Nick Dailey also scored.
Bears 8, Cardinals 4
The Bears ended the Atmore Vision Center Cardinals' season with an 8-4 defeat on June 25.
Cedric Pierce led the Bears with three runs. Mitch Yoder, Suvrat Soni, Kent Howard, Nick Dailey and Kenny English also scored.
Trey Grant, Adam Respress, Brett Wilkins and Dalton Phillips scored for the Cards.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox