Second All-Star wave begins

Published 11:03 am Wednesday, June 22, 2005

By By Tim Cottrell
One week after three area All-Star teams began tournament play; the remainder of Atmore's All-Star teams will begin action Thursday and Friday in various spots around the area.
Atmore's 10-, 11-, and 13-year-old All-Stars will begin their quests for the World Series Thursday night.
The Atmore 10-year-old Cal Ripken All-Stars will be the first to take the field, when they take on Semmes at 6 p.m. at Festival Park in Grand Bay. The team consists of Austin Albritton, Bo Bishop, Lateef Howard, Dominique Hubert, Fred Knight, Dustin Mack, A.J. Matthews, Brandon Metzler, Joseph Parker, Blake Quimby, Jordan Sasser, and Clayton Vickrey. The team is managed by Todd Vickrey; and Randy Albritton and Chad Parker will serve as assistant coaches.
A win Thursday night would give the All-Stars the night off Friday, and they would meet Theodore, Gulf Shores, or Spanish Fort Saturday. A loss would pit Atmore against the loser of Theodore and Gulf Shores Friday night. Other teams in Atmore's bracket include Matthews, Orange Beach, Satsuma, Boykin, and Grand Bay.
The 13-year-old Atmore Babe Ruth All-Stars will be the next team to hit the field Friday, taking on Monroeville at 7:30 in Monroeville. The 13-year-old team consists of Kenneth Bowens, Jon Dean, Nickolas Flowers, Shay Gipson, Tyler Hochstetler, Ryan Linam, Cameron McGhee, Haden McGill, Michael Mitchell, Tyler Moser, Jacob Rackard, Garrett Walley, and Christopher White. Scotty Flowers is managing the Atmore All-Stars, and Mark McGill and Kevin Rackard will serve as assistants. Brewton and South Monroe make up the rest of the 13-year-old bracket.
Atmore's 11-year-old Cal Ripken All-Stars will take the field 30 minutes later at Boykin Park in Theodore against Satsuma at 8 p.m. A win would pit Atmore against Grand Bay Friday night, while a loss would send them to the loser's bracket against either Theodore or Gulf Shores. The team consists of Tanner Boatwright, Tacorian Brown, James Dean, Tywan Dixon, Jaylen Henry, Chance Jackson, Chase Jaye, Nicholas Linam, Cody Merchant, Dillion Rolin, Logan Smith, and Dustin Wilson. Chris Wilson will serve as manager and Ronnie Merchant and Shawn Linam will serve as assistant coaches. Semmes and Matthews make up the rest of the bracket.
The 14- and 15-year-olds will play under the same umbrella in the 15-year-old Babe Ruth All-Star tournament in Brewton. They will get the night off Thursday, and meet up with the Brewton All-Stars Friday night at 7:30. The 14- and 15-year-old All-Stars consist of Kyle Chafin, Nick Johnson, Blake Kirk, Skyler Peacock, Maurice White, Tyler Brown, Elliott Faircloth, Ethan Brooks, Dustin Hall, Benjamin Hess, Matthew McGhee, Hunter Milliken, Justin Rolin, and Lawrence Thomas. Evergreen, Monroeville, and South Monroe make up the rest of the bracket.
Check in Sunday for full coverage of the weekend in All-Star Baseball.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox