Tourney teams selected

Published 4:14 am Wednesday, June 14, 2006

By By Matthew Nascone
As the summer heat creeps in the fun is only beginning for the 73 baseball players involved with the Atmore Cal Ripken League tournament teams.
The Major and Minor League divisions of the League named the 2006 teams that will compete in their respective district tournaments June 8. The teams were chosen based on the age of the athletes.
One team will be competing in each of the 8-, 10-, 11- and 12-year-old divisions and two teams will be facing competition in the 9-year-old division. Atmore teams will compete at Semmes Park, Satsuma Park and Matthews Park in Mobile.
The 8 year olds will open up against Matthews tomorrow at 6 p.m. at Semmes Park. The 9 year olds team one will face Spanish Fort June 22 at 7:30 p.m. at Matthews Park on Field A. Team two will face Grand Bay team two at 7:30 p.m. June 22 on Field C in Matthews Park.
The 10 year olds drew Boykin on June 16 at 8 p.m. at Satsuma Park. The 11 year olds will open up with Semmes at 8 p.m. on June 22 at Semmes Park. The 12 year olds open June 17 at 10 a.m. at Matthews Park.
Atmore Babe Ruth League president Murray Johnson said the year went smoothly and he was happy to get all the games in.
"We completed all the games and it was certainly nice to play in the park again," Johnson said.
The league was not able to play as many games last year due to damage by hurricanes Ivan and Dennis.
"I think it is very nice out there now with all the new lighting, metal poles and batting cages," he said. "I would like to thank Mayor Howard Shell and the city council for repairing our fields and for giving us their support this year as they have in the past."
Johnson said the league would not be where it is today without the help of all the people involved with the Babe Ruth and Cal Ripken leagues.
"We would not be successful without the league officials, managers and coaches, concession workers, umpires, city officials and of course our recreation director Melvin Middleton," he said. "I don't believe any youth league anywhere else has the caliber of managers and coaches we have."
These managers and coaches will attempt to lead the athletes involved to the promised land of the Cal Ripken World Series. The road to the World Series winds through the district tournament, the state tournament, the Southeast Regional and ends in various cities across the United States for the chance to be named Cal Ripken champion.
Since the inception of Cal Ripken Baseball in 2000 three teams from Atmore have won the state championship and moved on to the Southeast Regional. Those three teams are, the 11 year olds and the 12 year olds in 2000 and the 8 year olds in 2004.
The Atmore Cal Ripken League has named the tournament teams for 2006. The teams are broken down by age and Atmore will be sending one 12 and under team, one 11 and under team, one 10 and under team, two 9 and under teams and one 8 and under team.
These teams will participate in the district tournament and the state tournament, the regional tournament and the Cal Ripken World Series will follow for the teams that win their district tournament.
12 and under:
Cole Boatwright, Tanner Boatwright, Tacorian Brown, James Dean, Jaylen Henry, Demetric Henderson, Tanner Kirk, Nicholas Linam, Darren McGhee, Ty Randolph, Brian Rolin and Dustin Wilson
Chris Kirk, manager, and Shawn Linam
11 and under:
Austin Albritton, Paul Arnold, Brett Helton, Domineque Hubert, Casey Jackson, Chance Jackson, Frederick Knight, Brandon Metzler, Blake Quimby, Jordan Sasser, Logan Smith and Clayton Vickrey
Eddie Jackson, manager, Clint Sasser and Chad Helton
10 and under:
Bo Bishop, Malcolm Black, D.J. Carter, Hunter Dettling, Justin Alan Hiebert, Wesley Jefferson, David Johnson, Anthony Matthews, Brett McCraney, Brice McGhee, Kyler McGlothern, Matthew Quimby and Tyler Harrison Sanspree
Kevin Bishop, manager, McArthur Black and Jason Hiebert
9 and under team 1:
Tristan Brown, Drake Hamilton, Garrett Kirk, Scottie Lambert, Jake Leachman, D'Andrez McCarthy, Phillip Myrick, John Patrick Sawyer, Nate Smith, Robin Swift, Clay Walker and Gage White
J.P. Sawyer, manager, Donovan Brown and Chuck Walker
9 and under team 2:
Scott Austin Brantley, Jacob Esser, Perry Metzler, Larry Pugh, Hunter Sherouse, Brodie Amos, Dalton Daniels, Tristan McAnally, Trey McGhee, Bo Ramer, Coby Smith and Tanner Smith
Tim McAnally, manager, Tommy Smith and Jody Dortch
8 and under:
Marquis Brooks, Devante Dailey, Timothy Finklea Jr., Cameron Macks, Billy Powell, Thomas Judge Rolin, Devante Stephens, Arri Torres, Tadd Wall, Jacolby Ulmer, Steven Wilson and Xan McGhee
Chris Wilson, manager, David Macks, Erwin Dailey and David Gulsby

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox