Babe Ruth selects tourney teams

Published 4:54 am Monday, June 26, 2006

By By Matthew Nascone
The Atmore Babe Ruth League has named the tournament teams for 2006. The teams are broken down by age and Atmore will be sending one 13 and under team and one 15 and under team.
These teams will participate in the District 7 tournament and the state tournament, the regional tournament and the Babe Ruth World Series will follow for the teams that win their district tournament.
Atmore will play host to the 13 and under tournament this year. The tournament begins June 29 with Atmore playing the Brewton team at 6 p.m. The winner of that game will play Monroeville June 30 at 6 p.m.
The 15 year olds will play in Monroeville and their first game is July 3 at 7:30 p.m. against Monroeville.
The Atmore Babe Ruth League has been in existence since 1964 and has hosted many district tournaments through the years.
Following is a list of the players selected to the two Babe Ruth teams:
15 and under:
Tyler Brown, Eric Coley, Jamorris Curry, Jon Dean, Jordan Hasting, Nico Johnson, Blake Kirk, Lawrence Thomas, Kendrick Staples, Cody Vickrey, Maurice White and Stephen Yoder
Michael Thomas, manager, James Brown and Lamar Hasting
13 and under:
Devante Brown, Austin Cooper, Nickolas Flowers, Darian Henderson, Dalton Jackson, Hayden McGil, C.J. Pierce, Robert Poole, Marshall Rolin, Gavin Salter, Robert Starks, Christian Swartzendruber and Brett Wilkins.
Scotty Flowers, manager, Mark McGill and Melvin Rolin

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox