• 63°

Atmore resident Thomas Stallworth worked in the oil fields for 12 years

By Staff
Senior Living
(This week The Atmore Advance spotlights Thomas Hugh Stallworth Jr. Mr. Stallworth is 70 years old.)
Q: When and where were you born?
A: I was born in Atmore on Sept. 1, 1936.
Q: Who were your parents?
A: Thomas Stallworth, Sr. and Julia Stallworth.
My father was born in Seadan and my mother was born in Evans.
They were married for about 58 years.
Q: Do you have any brothers or sisters?
A: I have three sisters but only two are still living.
Mrs. B.C. Maxwell and she is from right here in Atmore.
Mrs. T.K. King and she is from Mobile.
Barbara King is the one that is deceased. She was married to Marvin King.
Q: Where did you attend high school and/or college?
A: I went to school right here in Atmore from kindergarten to the 11th grade.
Then, I went to Marion Institute my senior year and that is where I graduated from in 1954.
After I graduated, I went to the University of Alabama.
Q: How did you and your family travel when you were younger?
A: Well, horse and buggies were a little before my time. My father loved cars and we always to seemed have one.
Us kids would either walk or ride our bicycles.
I remember my father telling us that he used to ride a horse through the woods from Beatrice to Vredenburg to work at the saw mill.
That was his first job. He was born in 1900 and he quit school when he was 12. He would carry water around to the workers at the mill.
Q: Do you remember your first vehicle?
A: My parents gave me a 1953 Ford in 1956 after I graduated from Marion Institute.
I don't remember exactly what it was, but it was a coupe. I remember that.
Q: What jobs have you held?
A: Well, back then one of Atmore's main crops was Irish potatoes.
During the summers while I was still in school, I worked in the potato sheds. Working in the potato sheds involved different jobs like grating, putting them in the hopper, etc.
As I got older, during the summers while I was still in school I worked for Fayard Construction Company.
I worked for Sears for a number of years. I ran the small stores like we have here in Atmore.
Then I went to work in the oil fields in the early 1970s. I ended up in New Orleans and I stayed there for 12 years working in the oil fields.
In 1986 I moved back to Atmore. For the first four years I mainly hunted, fished, and played golf.
Then, I got my real estate license and started working with H.B. Williamson.
He was a really good friend of mine and when he passed away I kept the business open for a few more years.
Now I just work in my yard for the most part. I had back surgery in 1991 so I don't get to fish and hunt like I used to.
Q: Did you ever marry?
A: Not yet.
Q: Do you have any children or grandchildren?
A: I don't have any children, but I do have a lot of grand nieces and nephews. They live all over the place; Atmore, Stockton, Mobile, Peachtree City, that's in Georgia, and Louisiana.
Q: Where do you attend church?
A: Well, I was reared in a Methodist church, but I don't attend anymore. My mother always made sure we went to church.
Q. What keeps you busy these days?
A: Working in my yard mostly.
I am glad that it is college football season. That gives me something to do.
I can't get out and do like I used to since my back surgery.
Q. Have you traveled much?
A: When I worked for the oil company, I traveled a good bit.
I have been to Mexico, the Grand Cayman Islands, and up the east coast.
I went to Canada before I started working for the oil company.
I don't travel much anymore. My back won't let me. But I do try to get back to New Orleans every now and then to visit my old friends, but I haven't been back since Katrina hit.
Q. What's your favorite television show?
A: I like watching sports. That's why I'm glad that college football is back in season.
I also like watching the Discovery Channel and the History Channel.
Q: What advice do you give to people on staying healthy?
A: Well, I really can't give much advice on staying healthy because I'm not the healthiest person in the world.
This is not really advice, but I quit smoking in the last 10 years and I work out in the yard to get a little bit of exercise.
(If you would like to recommend a senior to be spotlighted please contact Stacie Cofield at 368-2123 or e-mail her at composing@atmoreadvance.com)