Hall of Fame narrows 2007 nominee list

Published 12:36 am Monday, May 7, 2007

By By Matthew Nascone
The Atmore Area Hall of Fame committee is the group responsible for the inaugural induction of seven former Atmore citizens to the Atmore Area Hall of Fame last November.
And on April 26 in the Patricia P. McKenzie meeting room at the Atmore Public Library two new faces were added to the mix while one resigned. Thomas Miller and Billy Conn Madison joined the other 12 members of the committee and Weldon Vickrey resigned his position on the Athletes/Coaches sub-committee.
Committee chairman, Lou Vickery, said they are looking for one more individual to round the committee out at 15 people.
"We want to get this committee up to 15 people and we would love to have another female member," Vickery said. "So anyone who knows a woman who would like to serve on the committee let me know."
After the new members of the committee were announced, the group got down to business and inched closer to solidifying an induction class for 2007.
This year's Top 20 is not solidified, but 18 of the final 20 have been announced. They are as follows, Athletes/Coaches, Herbert Barnes, George Mosby, Cornell Torrance, Woody McCorvey Jr. and Don McNeal; Business/Medical, Bill Corman, Dr. J.O. Lisenby, Dr. Ben Maxwell, William Carney and Dr. J.B. Thomas; Government/Military, Dr. W.R. Holley, Lyn Stuart, Patricia McKenzie, J.M. Mays and Claude Kelley; Education/Ministry/Theatre, Marva Collins, A.C. Moore and Garland Butler (the final two selections are being discussed).
Before the group dispersed, Vickery made sure the committee realized this year will be different from last year. To be inducted last year the vote was a simple majority so that the initial class would be the maximum of seven, but the voting will be different for induction in 2007.
To be inducted into the Atmore Area Hall of Fame, a nominee must get 66 percent of the committee vote and there will be seven spots available. Vickery said there could be as many as seven inductees, or there could be only one. It all depends on the vote.
The committee will vote in

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox