NWE, District Champs

Published 5:42 am Monday, July 16, 2007

By By Matthew Nascone
The NWE 9-10-year-old all-star softball team competed in the Little League Softball District 1 Tournament July 2-7 in Crestview, Fla. They walked away with the championship after a 12-0 slaughtering of Crestview July 7 in the championship game.
Dannielle Steadham led NWE, going 2-for-4 with two runs scored and one triple. Reagan Bell, Mallory Ryan and Kyndall Hall each scored two runs. Julie Hester had three walks on the afternoon and scored one run.
Madison Arrington, Cheyanne Schoonover and Morgan Digmon each scored one run. Ryan picked up the win on the mound for NWE, striking out five Crestview batters. She only allowed one hit and walked seven batters.
NWE 13 Crestview 8
The NWE girls were at it again July 5 against Crestview for the first time in the tournament. Crestview put up a little more of a fight and the NWE squad pulled it out, 13-8.
Madison Arrington went 1-for-1 with three runs scored for NWE. Mallory Ryan was 1-for-2 with two runs scored. Cheyanne Schoonover and Kyndall Hall each scored two runs. Julie Hester, Reagan Bell, Morgan Digmon and Courtney Peebles crossed the plate once apiece.
Digmon grabbed the win on the mound for NWE. She pitched a complete game and allowed eight runs on 10 hits. She struck out six batters and walked three. The Crestview pitcher walked 20 hitters.
NWE 25 Baker 0
In the opening game of the four-team tournament, NWE destroyed Baker 25-0. Every player for NWE scored multiple times.
Kyndall Hall was 2-for-4 at the plate with two runs scored. Julie Hester was 1-for-3 at the plate with three runs scored. Dannielle Steadham went 1-for-2 with four runs scored and two walks.
Reagan Bell went 2-for-3 with three runs scored. Madison Arrington scored three runs, Courtney Peebles scored three runs, Cheyanne Schoonover, Morgan Digmon and Mallory Ryan each scored two runs and Hope Coggings scored one run.
The NWE 9-10-year-old all-stars played July 14 at Crestview in the Sectional Tournament against Fort Braden in a best of three format. The winner of the series moves on to the state tournament.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox