• 72°

McGhee quilts at Poarch SAIL Center

By Staff
Senior Living
(This week The Atmore Advance spotlights Rose McGhee. The 52-year-old enjoys visiting the Poarch SAIL Center where she helps quilt. She also enjoys crocheting and visiting her cousin Charlene Weaver.)
Q: When and where were you born?
A: I was born in Florence on March, 6, 1955.
Q: Who were your parents?
A: My parents are Otis McGhee, he died four years ago. My mother is Clarence Gray.
Q: Where does your mom live?
A: She moved to Florence.
Q: When did you move to the Atmore area?
A: I moved here about 12 years ago.
Q: Do you have any brothers or sisters?
A: I have three half brothers and one half sister. They are Harold, Otis Jr., Chris and Renee.
Q: Where did you attend high school and college?
A: In Florence and then Cicero, Ill. I got my GED in Chicago, Ill.
Q: Do you do a lot of traveling?
A: No, only with the senior citizens (at Poarch).
Q: Where have you visited?
A: Oklahoma, New York. I enjoyed every bit of it and I love coming up here (to the Poarch SAIL Center).
Q: What was your favorite place to visit?
A: Oklahoma. I like my Indian Heritage and I love the Smokey Mountains.
Q: What jobs have you held?
A: They were all mostly in Chicago. I worked at a cookie factory, as a nurses aid and a secretary and then I moved here. I worked at Best Western and then Vanity Fair.
Q: Did you ever marry?
A: I have been married three times. I am by myself now.
Q: Do you have any children or grandchildren?
A: I have two girls and one boy. I have four grandchildren.
Q: What are your children's names?
A: James in Tennessee, Teresa in Perdido and Jessica in Tennessee.
Q: Do you see them often?
A: Just Teresa. I was up in Tennessee around July-August.
Q: Where do you attend church?
A: Poarch Baptist sometimes.
Q: What keeps you busy these days?
A: Coming up here (to the Poarch SAIL Center). I help quilt and crochet. I go over to Charlene (Weaver), my cousin's, house sometimes. Sometimes the grand babies come over on the weekends.
I love people, I am a people person.
Q: What's your favorite TV show?
A: "Andy Griffith" and "The Heat of the Night."
Q: What's your favorite food?
A: Mexican and lasagna and turkey and dressing.
Q: What advice would you like to give people on staying healthy?
A: Don't do like I did!
Exercise and eat right!
(If you would like to recommend a senior to be spotlighted please contact Adrienne McKenzie at 368-2123 or e-mail her at lifestyles@atmoreadvance.com)